This Order is made in substitution for the Cumbria (Coroners' Districts) Order 2004 which was made on 23rd February 2004 and is revoked by this Order without having been published.

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2004 No. 535

CORONERS

The Cumbria (Coroners' Districts) (No. 2) Order 2004

Made - - - - 29th February 2004
Laid before Parliament 2nd March 2004
Coming into force - - 1st April 2004

Whereas the council of the County of Cumbria have, in pursuance of section 4(2) of the Coroners Act 1988(1) and after due compliance with the provisions of the Coroners (Orders as to Districts) Rules 1927(2), submitted to the Secretary of State a draft Order providing for the alteration of the existing division of that County into coroners' districts;

And whereas the Secretary of State has made such modifications of the draft Order as he thinks fit; Now, therefore, the Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 4(2) of that Act, hereby makes the following Order:

Citation, commencement and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Cumbria (Coroners' Districts) (No.2) Order 2004.
- (2) This Order shall come into force on 1st April 2004.
- (3) This Order shall not have effect in relation to any inquest begun before the day on which it comes into force or to any post-mortem examination which, before that day, a coroner has directed or requested a medical practitioner to make.

Alteration and renaming of coroners' districts

2. The existing Southern Coroner's District and Furness Coroner's District (3) shall be amalgamated to form a single coroner's district called the South Cumbria and Furness Coroner's District.

^{(1) 1988} c. 13.

⁽²⁾ S.R. & O. 1927/343.

⁽³⁾ Constituted by the Cumbria (Coroners' Districts) Order 1974 (S.I. 1974/367).

- **3.** Accordingly, the County of Cumbria shall be divided into three coroners' districts and each such coroner's district shall consist of the area specified in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the coroner's district in question as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- **4.** The Cumbria (Coroners' Districts) Order 1974 and the Cumbria (Coroners' Districts) Order 2004(**4**) are hereby revoked.

Home Office 29th February 2004 Paul Goggins
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

1.	2.
Name of Coroner's district	Areas comprised in coroner's district
North Eastern	The City of Carlisle; the District of Eden, except the parish of Threlkeld; in the Borough of Allerdale: the parishes of Aikton, Allhallows, Allonby, Aspatria, Blennerhasset and Torpenhow, Boltons, Bowness on Solway, Bromfield, Caldbeck, Dundraw, Hayton and Mealo, Holme Abbey, Holme East Waver, Holme Low, Holme St Cuthbert, Ireby and Uldale, Kirkbampton, Kirkbride, Sebergham, Silloth on Solway, Thursby, Waverton, Westnewton, Westward and Wigton, and Woodside, and Skinburness Marsh (common to the parishes of Silloth on Solway, Holme Abbey, Holme East Waver and Holme Low).
Western	The Borough of Copeland; the Borough of Allerdale, except the parts in the North Eastern Coroner's District; in the District of Eden, the parish of Threlkeld.
South Cumbria and Furness	The District of South Lakeland and the Borough of Barrow-in-Furness.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The County of Cumbria was divided into four coroners' districts by the Cumbria (Coroners' Districts) Order 1974.

This Order replaces the two coroners' districts of Southern and Furness with the single district of South Cumbria and Furness. It also revokes the 1974 Order. The three coroners' districts now existing in the County of Cumbria are set out in the Schedule to this Order.