EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect, with modifications, to recommendations by the Boundary Committee for England, a committee of the Electoral Commission, for electoral changes in the county of Cambridgeshire.

The modifications concern the boundaries and names of Little Paxton and St Neots North, and St Neots Eaton Socon electoral divisions and the names of Cottenham, Histon and Impington, Ely North and East, and Ely South and West electoral divisions.

The changes have effect in relation to local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2005.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral divisions of the county and provides for the creation of 60 new electoral divisions. That article and the Schedule also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new electoral divisions.

Article 5 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer for each district or city in the county of Cambridgeshire to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

Article 6 revokes the County of Cambridgeshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1984, with the exception of article 5.

The areas of the new electoral divisions are demarcated on the map described in article 2. Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Cambridgeshire County Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.