STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2005 No. 174

The County of Worcestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2005

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the County of Worcestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2005.
- (2) This Order, with the exception of articles 4 and 5, shall come into force
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2005, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2005.
- (3) Articles 4 and 5 shall come into force
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of a parish councillor for the parishes of Droitwich Spa and Evesham to be held on the ordinary day of elections in 2007, on 15th October 2006;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of elections in 2007.

Interpretation

2. In this Order –

"county" means the county of Worcestershire;

"existing", in relation to an electoral division or ward, means the electoral division or ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

references to wards, unless the context otherwise requires, are references to district, borough and city wards in the county(1);

any reference to the map is a reference to the map marked "Map referred to in the County of Worcestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2005", of which prints are available for inspection at –

- (a) the principal office of the Electoral Commission; and
- (b) the offices of Worcestershire County Council; and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

Electoral divisions of the county of Worcestershire

- **3.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the county(2) shall be abolished.
- (2) The county shall be divided into fifty-two electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of the Schedule.

⁽¹⁾ See the District of Bromsgrove (Electoral Changes) Order 2003 (S.I.2003/158), the District of Malvern Hills (Electoral Changes) Order 2003 (S.I. 2003/3224), the Borough of Redditch (Electoral Changes) Order 2002 (S.I. 2002/2986), the City of Worcester (Electoral Changes) Order 2002 (S.I. 2002/3225), the District of Wychavon (Electoral Changes) Order 2002 (S.I. 2002/2987) and the District of Wyre Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2002 (S.I. 2002/2985).

⁽²⁾ See the Hereford and Worcester (Structural, Boundary and Electoral Changes) Order 1996 (S.I. 1996/1867).

- (3) The electoral divisions shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to wards, parishes, or parish wards or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the electoral division and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division shall be the number specified in respect of the electoral division in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Droitwich Spa

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Droitwich Spa shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into seven parish wards which shall bear the names Droitwich Central, Droitwich Chawson, Droitwich Copcut, Droitwich East, Droitwich Tagwell, Droitwich West and Droitwich Witton; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 4 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Droitwich East and Droitwich West parish wards shall be four, and for each of the Droitwich Central, Droitwich Chawson, Droitwich Copcut, Droitwich Tagwell and Droitwich Witton parish wards shall be two.

Wards of the parish of Evesham

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Evesham shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into six parish wards which shall bear the names Bengeworth, Evesham Avon, Evesham South, Evesham Twyford, Great Hampton and Little Hampton; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 4 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Bengeworth, Evesham South and Little Hampton parish wards shall be five, and for each of the Evesham Avon, Evesham Twyford and Great Hampton parish wards shall be three.

Maps

6. Worcestershire County Council shall make a print of the map marked "Map referred to in the County of Worcestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2005" available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

Electoral registers

7. The Electoral Registration Officer(3) for each district, borough or city in the county shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

Revocation

8. Article 8 of the Hereford and Worcester (Structural, Boundary and Electoral Changes) Order 1996(4) is revoked.

⁽³⁾ As to electoral registration officers and the register of local government electors, *see* sections 8 to 13 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I. 1996/1867.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Sealed with the seal of the Electoral Commission on the 1st day of February 2005

L.S.

1st February 2005

Sam Younger Chairman of the Commission

1st February 2005

Peter Wardle Chief Executive to the Commission