STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2005 No. 176

The County of Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 2005

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the County of Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 2005.
- (2) This Order, with the exception of articles 4, 5, 6 and 7, shall come into force
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2005, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2005.
- (3) Articles 4, 5, 6 and 7 shall come into force
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of a parish councillor for the parishes of Cassop-cum-Quarrington, Great Aycliffe, Seaham and Spennymoor to be held on the ordinary day of elections in 2007, on 15th October 2006;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of elections in 2007.

Interpretation

2. In this Order –

"county" means the county of Durham;

"existing", in relation to an electoral division or ward, means the electoral division or ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

references to wards, unless the context otherwise requires, are references to district, borough and city wards in the county(1);

any reference to the map is a reference to the map marked "Map referred to in the County of Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 2005", of which prints are available for inspection at –

- (a) the principal office of the Electoral Commission; and
- (b) the offices of Durham County Council; and

any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number.

Divisions of the county of Durham

3.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the county(**2**) shall be abolished.

⁽¹⁾ See the District of Chester-le-Street (Electoral Changes) Order 1999 (S.I. 1999/2503), the District of Derwentside (Electoral Changes) Order 1999 (S.I. 1999/2580), the City of Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 1999 (S.I. 1999/2579), the District of Easington (Electoral Changes) Order 1999 (S.I. 1999/2581), the Borough of Sedgefield (Electoral Changes) Order 1999 (S.I. 1999/2582), the District of Teesdale (Electoral Changes) Order 1999 (S.I. 1999/2583) and the District of Wear Valley (Electoral Changes) Order 1999 (S.I. 1999/2584).

⁽²⁾ See the County of Durham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1981 (S.I. 1981/190). The area of the county of Durham was altered by the Cleveland and Durham (Areas) Order 1982 (S.I. 1982/1658), the Cleveland and Durham (County Boundaries) Order 1988 (S.I. 1988/2180), the Durham and North Yorkshire (County Boundaries) Order 1991 (S.I. 1991/287), the Durham, Northumberland and Tyne and Wear (County and District Boundaries) Order 1992 (S.I. 1992/3050), the Durham and Tyne

- (2) The county shall be divided into sixty-three electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 1.
- (3) The electoral divisions shall comprise the areas described in column (2) of that Schedule by reference to wards, parishes, or parish wards or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the electoral division and demarcated by red lines; and the number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division shall be one.
- (4) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Cassop-cum-Quarrington

4. The parish of Cassop-cum-Quarrington shall be divided into two parish wards which shall bear the names set out in column (1) of Schedule 2; each parish ward shall comprise the area of the division specified in respect of the parish ward in column (2) of that Schedule, and the number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward shall be the number specified in respect of the parish ward in column (3) of that Schedule.

Wards of the parish of Great Aycliffe

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Great Aycliffe shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into eight parish wards which shall bear the names Aycliffe Village, Byerley Park, Horndale and Cobblers Hall, Neville, Shafto St Marys, Simpasture, West, Woodham North and Woodham South; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 5 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Byerley Park, Horndale and Cobblers Hall, West and Woodham North parish wards shall be six, for each of the Neville, Shafto St Marys and Woodham South parish wards shall be three, for the Simpasture parish ward shall be two, and for the Aycliffe Village parish ward shall be one.

Wards of the parish of Seaham

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Seaham shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into six parish wards which shall bear the names Dawdon, Deneside, Seaham Harbour North, Seaham Harbour South, Seaham North and Westlea; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 2 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Dawdon and Deneside parish wards shall be five, for the Seaham Harbour North parish ward shall be four, for the Seaham North parish ward shall be three, and for each of the Seaham Harbour South and Westlea parish wards shall be two.

Wards of the parish of Spennymoor

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Spennymoor shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into six parish wards which shall bear the names Byers Green, Low Spennymoor and Tudhoe Grange, Merrington, Middlestone, Spennymoor and Tudhoe; and the wards shall comprise the areas designated on sheet 4 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(3) The number of councillors to be elected for each of the Low Spennymoor and Tudhoe Grange, and Spennymoor parish wards shall be six, for each of the Middlestone and Tudhoe parish wards shall be four, and for each of the Byers Green and Merrington parish wards shall be one.

Maps

8. Durham County Council shall make a print of the map marked "Map referred to in the County of Durham (Electoral Changes) Order 2005" available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

Electoral registers

9. The Electoral Registration Officer(**3**) for each district, borough or city in the county shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

Revocation

10. The County of Durham (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1981(4) is revoked, save for article 5.

Sealed with the seal of the Electoral Commission on the 1st day of February 2005

L.S.

1st February 2005

Sam Younger Chairman of the Commission

1st February 2005

Peter Wardle Chief Executive to the Commission

⁽³⁾ As to electoral registration officers and the register of local government electors, *see* sections 8 to 13 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2).

⁽⁴⁾ S.I. 1981/190.