## 2007 No. 1165

## CORONERS

The Cumbria (Coroners' Districts) Order 2007

Made	3rd April 2007
Laid before Parliament	4th April 2007
Coming into force	1st May 2007

The council of the county of Cumbria submitted to the Secretary of State a draft Order in compliance with section 4(2) of the Coroners Act 1988(1) and the Coroners (Orders as to Districts) Rules 1927(2) providing for the alteration of coroners' districts in the County of Cumbria.

The Secretary of State has made such modifications of the draft as he thinks fit and makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by section 4(2) of the Coroners Act 1988.

**1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Cumbria (Coroners' Districts) Order 2007 and shall come into force on 1st May 2007.

(2) This Order shall not have effect in relation to any inquest begun before the day on which it comes into force or to any post-mortem examination which, before that day, a coroner has directed or requested a medical practitioner to make.

**2.**—(1) The existing North Eastern coroner's district, Western coroner's district and South Cumbria and Furness coroner's district in the county of Cumbria shall be abolished.

(2) From the area comprising the coroners' districts mentioned in paragraph (1) there shall be formed the two coroners' districts named in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order which shall consist of the areas specified in column 2 of the Schedule.

3. The Cumbria (Coroners' Districts) (No 2) Order 2004(3) is revoked.

<sup>(2)</sup> S.R. & O. 1927/343.

<sup>(</sup>**3**) S.I. 2004/535.

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

3rd April 2007

*Harriet Harman,* Department for Constitutional Affairs

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

## SCHEDULE

Article 2(2)

Name of new coroner's district	Areas comprised in new coroner's district
North and West Cumbria	The administrative areas of Carlisle City Council, Allerdale Borough Council and Copeland Borough Council.
South and East Cumbria	The administrative areas of Barrow in Furness Borough Council, South Lakeland District Council and Eden District Council.

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

The county of Cumbria is divided into the North Eastern, Western and South Cumbria and Furness coroners' districts.

This Order abolishes these three districts and divides Cumbria into two new coroners' districts, North and West Cumbria (comprising the administrative areas of Carlisle City Council, Allerdale Borough Council and Copeland Borough Council) and South and East Cumbria (comprising the administrative areas of Barrow in Furness Borough Council, South Lakeland District Council and Eden District Council).