STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2007 No. 139

The Borough of Dacorum (Electoral Changes) Order 2007

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Borough of Dacorum (Electoral Changes) Order 2007.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"borough" means the borough of Dacorum;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Borough of Dacorum (Electoral Changes) Order 2007", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Electoral Commission: and any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1); and

"registration officer" means an officer appointed for the purpose of, and in accordance with, section 8(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1983.

Wards of the borough of Dacorum

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough(3) shall be abolished.
- (2) The borough shall be divided into twenty-five wards which shall be named as set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes and parish wards or, where an area is not so described, the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by red lines.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

^{(1) 1983} c.2, section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50) and section 17 of, and paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to, the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29).

⁽²⁾ Section 8 has been amended by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c.19) and the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 (c.39).

⁽³⁾ See the Borough of Dacorum (Electoral Changes) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2552).

Wards of the parish of Berkhamsted

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Berkhamsted shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three wards which shall be named Berkhamsted Castle, Berkhamsted East and Berkhamsted West.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheet 2 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
 - (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be five.

Wards of the parish of Tring

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Tring shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into three wards which shall be named Tring Bunstrux, Tring Dunsley and Tring Miswell.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheet 1 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for Tring Bunstrux ward shall be five, for Tring Miswell ward shall be four, and for Tring Dunsley ward shall be three.

Map

6. Dacorum Borough Council shall make a print of the map available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

Electoral register

7. The registration officer for the borough shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

Sealed with the seal of the Electoral Commission on the 25th day of January 2007



25th January 2007

25th January 2007

Sam Younger
Chairman of the Commission
Peter Wardle
Chief Executive to the Commission