#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2007 No. 140

# The District of East Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2007

#### Citation and commencement

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the District of East Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2007.
  - (2) This Order comes into force—
    - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to any election to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007, on the day after that on which it is made;
    - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007.

#### Interpretation

#### 2. In this Order—

"district" means the district of East Northamptonshire;

"existing", in relation to a ward, means the ward as it exists on the date this Order is made;

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the District of East Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2007", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Electoral Commission: and any reference to a numbered sheet is a reference to the sheet of the map which bears that number;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1); and

"registration officer" means an officer appointed for the purpose of, and in accordance with, section 8(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1983.

# Wards of the district of East Northamptonshire

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district(3) shall be abolished.
- (2) The district shall be divided into twenty-two wards which shall be named as set out in column (1) of the Schedule.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area described in column (2) of the Schedule by reference to parishes and parish wards.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be the number specified in respect of the ward in column (3) of the Schedule.

<sup>(1) 1983</sup> c.2, section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50) and section 17 of, and paragraphs 1 and 5 of Schedule 3 to, the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29).

<sup>(2)</sup> Section 8 has been amended by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c.19) and the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994 (c.39)

<sup>(3)</sup> See the District of East Northamptonshire (Electoral Changes) Order 1998 (S.I. 1998/2512).

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it shall be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Higham Ferrers

- **4.**—(1) The parish of Higham Ferrers shall be divided into two wards which shall be named Higham Ferrers Chichele and Higham Ferrers Lancaster.
- (2) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheets 2 and 3 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
  - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be eight.

#### Wards of the parish of Irthlingborough

- **5.**—(1) The parish of Irthlingborough shall be divided into two wards which shall be named Irthlingborough John Pyel and Irthlingborough Waterloo.
- (2) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheet 2 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
  - (3) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be six.

#### Wards of the parish of Raunds

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Raunds shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into two wards which shall be named Raunds Saxon and Raunds Windmill.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheets 1 and 3 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
  - (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward shall be six.

### Wards of the parish of Rushden

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Rushden shall be abolished.
- (2) The parish shall be divided into five wards which shall be named Rushden Bates, Rushden Hayden, Rushden Pemberton, Rushden Sartoris and Rushden Spencer.
- (3) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheets 2 and 3 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each of Rushden Hayden, Rushden Pemberton and Rushden Spencer wards shall be five, and for each of Rushden Bates and Rushden Sartoris wards shall be three.

#### Wards of the parish of Thrapston

- **8.**—(1) The parish of Thrapston shall be divided into two wards which shall be named Thrapston Lakes and Thrapston Market.
- (2) Each ward shall comprise the area designated on sheet 1 by reference to the name of the ward and demarcated by orange lines.
- (3) The number of councillors to be elected for Thrapston Lakes ward shall be eight and for Thrapston Market ward shall be five.

#### Map

**9.** East Northamptonshire District Council shall make a print of the map available for inspection at its offices by any member of the public at any reasonable time.

## Electoral register

**10.** The registration officer for the district shall make such rearrangement of, or adaptation of, the register of local government electors as may be necessary for the purposes of, and in consequence of, this Order.

Sealed with the seal of the Electoral Commission on the 25th day of January 2007



25th January 2007

25th January 2007

Sam Younger
Chairman of the Commission
Peter Wardle
Chief Executive to the Commission