EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of West Wiltshire following recommendations made by the Boundary Committee for England to the Electoral Commission.

The Electoral Commission accepted the Boundary Committee's recommendations with one modification. The modification concerns the name of Avonside ward.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2007.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district and replaces them with 24 new ones. That article, the Schedule and the map also establish the names and areas of the new district wards and the numbers of district councillors for each ward.

Article 4 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Bradford-on-Avon and replaces them with 2 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 5 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Melksham and replaces them with 3 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 6 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Trowbridge and replaces them with 7 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 7 abolishes the existing parish wards of the parish of Westbury and replaces them with 2 new ones. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new parish wards and the numbers of parish councillors for each ward.

Article 9 obliges the Electoral Registration Officer to make any necessary amendments to the electoral register to reflect the new electoral arrangements.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at www.boundarycommittee.org.uk/your-area/westwiltshire.cfm and, at all reasonable times, at the offices of West Wiltshire District Council and at the principal office of the Electoral Commission at Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.