2007 No. 737

CORONERS

The Norfolk (Coroners' Districts) Order 2007

Made	7th March 2007
Laid before Parliament	8th March 2007
Coming into force	6th April 2007

The council of the county of Norfolk submitted to the Secretary of State a draft Order in compliance with section 4(2) of the Coroners Act 1988(1) and the Coroners (Orders as to Districts) Rules 1972(2) providing for the alteration of coroners' districts in the county of Norfolk.

The Secretary of State has made such modifications of the draft as he thinks fit and makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by section 4(2) of the Coroners Act 1988.

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Norfolk (Coroners' Districts) Order 2007 and shall come into force on 6th April 2007.

(2) This Order shall not have effect in relation to any inquest begun before the day on which it comes into force or to any post-mortem examination which, before that day, a coroner has directed or requested a medical practitioner to make.

2. The existing Norwich and Central Norfolk Coroner's District and the King's Lynn Coroner's District shall be amalgamated to form a single Coroner's District called the Greater Norfolk Coroner's District.

3. Accordingly, the County of Norfolk shall be divided into two coroners' districts and each such coroner's district shall consist of the area specified in column 2 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the coroner's district in column 1 of that Schedule.

4. The Norfolk (Coroners' Districts) Order 2001(3) is revoked.

^{(1) 1988} c. 13. Section 4(2) was amended by paragraph 82(4) of Schedule 16 to the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 (c. 19).

⁽²⁾ S.R. & O. 1927/343.

⁽**3**) S.I. 2001/666.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State

7th March 2007

Harriet Harman, Minister of State, Department for Constitutional Affairs

SCHEDULE

Article 3

Column 1Column 2Name of Coroner's DistrictArea comprised in Coroner's DistrictGreater NorfolkThe Districts of Breckland, Broadland, North
Norfolk, South Norfolk and the City of
Norwich.Great YarmouthThe Borough of King's Lynn and West
Norfolk.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The County of Norfolk was divided into three coroners' districts by the Norfolk (Coroners' Districts) Order 2001.

This Order replaces the two Coroners' Districts of Norwich and Central Norfolk and King's Lynn by the District of Norwich and Central Norfolk (as substituted by the Schedule to this Order).