### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2009 No. 2099

# OFFSHORE INSTALLATIONS

The Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) (No.2) Order 2009

 Made
 29th July 2009

 Coming into force
 19th August 2009

The Secretary of State makes this Order —

- (a) in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 22(1) and (2) of the Petroleum Act 1987(a) ("the Act"); and
- (b) for the purpose of giving effect to proposals submitted to him by the Health and Safety Executive under section 24(2A) of the Act.

#### Citation and commencement

**1.** This Order may be cited as the Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) (No.2) Order 2009 and comes into force on 19th August 2009.

## Establishment of safety zone

**2.** A safety zone is established around each installation specified in column 1 of the Schedule (being an installation stationed in waters to which subsection (7) of section 21 of the Petroleum Act 1987 applies) having a radius of five hundred metres from the point as respects that installation which has the co-ordinates of latitude and longitude according to the World Geodetic System 1984(**b**) specified in columns 2 and 3 of the Schedule.

#### Revocation

**3.** The Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) Order 2009(c) is revoked.

<sup>(</sup>a) 1987 c.12; section 24(2A) was inserted by S.I. 1993/1823 and is amended by S.I. 2008/960.

<sup>(</sup>b) The World Geodetic System 1984 ("WGS 84") defines a reference frame for the earth, for use in geodesy and navigation. It was developed by the United States' National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency and is maintained by it. WGS 84 is defined at paragraph 2.1 of the United States' National Imagery and Mapping Agency Technical Report TR8350.2, third edition, amendment 1 of 3rd January 2000 entitled "Department of Defense World Geodetic System 1984" (http://earthinfo.nga.mil/GandG/publications/tr8350.2/wgs84fin.pdf).

<sup>(</sup>c) S.I. 2009/1374.

William D McKenzie
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department for Work and Pensions

29th July 2009

## **SCHEDULE**

Article 2

### SAFETY ZONE

(1)	(2)	(3)
Name or other designation of the offshore installation	Latitude North	Longitude East
Auk North Manifold 30/16	56° 26.40'	02° 00.46'
IVRHH subsea facilities 15/21a	58° 11.427'	00° 06.681'
Lochranza Metering Skid 15/20a	58° 22.42'	00° 56.26'
North Gryphon Metering Skid 9/18a	59° 22.10'	01° 32.56'
Seven Seas Subsea Well 48/7c	53° 44.941'	01° 20.638'
Grove West Subsea Well 49/10a	53° 43.0225'	02° 49.717'

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

- 1. This Order establishes, under section 22 of the Petroleum Act 1987, a safety zone having a radius of 500 metres from the specified point, around each installation specified in the Schedule to this Order and stationed in waters to which section 21(7) of that Act applies (these include territorial waters and waters in areas designated under section 1(7) of the Continental Shelf Act 1964 (c.29)).
- **2.** Vessels, which for this purpose include hovercraft, submersible apparatus and installations in transit, are prohibited from entering or remaining in a safety zone except with the consent of the Health and Safety Executive or in accordance with regulations made under section 23(1) of the Act (currently the Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) Regulations 1987 (S.I. 1987/1331)).
- **3.** This Order uses the World Geodetic System 84 ("WGS 84") co-ordinates to establish the location of safety zones. This is the reference system that is now most commonly recognised and used throughout the world. It replaces the European Datum (1950), which was the system used for stating the location of safety zones under earlier Orders made under section 22 of the Petroleum Act 1987.
- **4.** The Order revokes the Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) Order 2009 which was defective in that the co-ordinates for the latitude and longitude of the installations it related to (other than those for the Auk North Manifold 30/16 installation) were given according to WGS 84 but referenced as in accordance with European Datum (1950).

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

<sup>©</sup> Crown copyright 2009