STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2011 No. 1224

CRIMINAL LAW, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Crime and Disorder Act 1998 (Responsible Authorities) Order 2011

Made---4th May 2011Laid before Parliament6th May 2011Coming into force-1st June 2011

This Order is made in exercise of the powers conferred by section 5(1A) of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998(1).

An application for an Order containing the provisions set out in article 2 below has been made jointly by all persons who would be responsible authorities in relation to a combined area consisting of the local government areas of Hambleton District Council and Richmondshire District Council.

An application for an Order containing the provisions set out in article 3 below has been made jointly by all persons who would be responsible authorities in relation to a combined area consisting of the local government areas of Breckland District Council, Broadland District Council, Great Yarmouth Borough Council, King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council, North Norfolk District Council, Norwich City Council and South Norfolk District Council.

The Secretary of State considers it would be in the interests of reducing crime and disorder, of combating the misuse of drugs, alcohol and other substances, and of reducing re-offending to make such an Order.

Accordingly the Secretary of State makes the following Order:

Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 (Responsible Authorities) Order 2011 and shall come into force on 1st June 2011.

Combined areas

2.—(1) The functions conferred by sections 6 and 7 of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998(2) are to be carried out in relation to the local government areas of Hambleton District Council and

^{(1) 1998} c.37; subsection (1A) was inserted into section 5 by section 97(1) and (3) of the Police Reform Act 2002 (c. 30) and was amended by section 22 of, and paragraph 2(3) of Schedule 9 to, the Police and Justice Act 2006 (c. 48).

⁽²⁾ Section 6 was substituted by section 22 of, and paragraph 3 of Schedule 9 to, the Police and Justice Act 2006 and was amended by section 108(4) and (5) of the Policing and Crime Act 2009 (c. 26).

Richmondshire District Council as if they constituted only one area (for the purposes of this article, "the combined area").

- (2) The persons who for the purposes of Chapter 1 of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 are to be taken as the responsible authorities in relation to the combined area are the persons who comprise every person who, apart from this Order, would be a responsible authority in relation to one or both of the areas included in the combined area.
- **3.**—(1) The functions conferred by sections 6 and 7 of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 are to be carried out in relation to the local government areas of Breckland District Council, Broadland District Council, Great Yarmouth Borough Council, King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council, North Norfolk District Council, Norwich City Council and South Norfolk District Council as if they constituted only one area (for the purposes of this article, "the combined area").
- (2) The persons who for the purposes of Chapter 1 of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 are to be taken as the responsible authorities in relation to the combined area are the persons who comprise every person who, apart from this Order, would be a responsible authority in relation to any one or more of the areas included in the combined area.

Home Office 4th May 2011

James Brokenshire
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order provides that, with effect from 1st June 2011, two community safety partnerships in North Yorkshire and seven community safety partnerships in Norfolk are to combine to form the Hambleton and Richmondshire Community Safety Partnership and the County Community Safety Partnership for Norfolk respectively. These partnerships will perform the functions conferred by sections 6 and 7 of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998. The Hambleton and Richmondshire Community Safety Partnership will comprise the local government areas of Hambleton District Council and Richmondshire District Council. The County Community Safety Partnership for Norfolk will comprise the local government areas of Breckland District Council, Broadland District Council, Great Yarmouth Borough Council, King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council, North Norfolk District Council, Norwich City Council and South Norfolk District Council.