## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of South Derbyshire following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district and replaces them with 15 new ones. That article, the map and the Schedule also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

Article 4 establishes 2 wards for the parish of Hartshorne. That article and the map also establish the names and areas of the new wards and the number of councillors for each ward.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district wards and parish wards. It is available at www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/south-derbyshire-electoral-review and, at all reasonable times, at the offices of the council of the district of South Derbyshire and at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76-86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.