STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2012 No. 2985

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Swale (Electoral Changes) Order 2012

Made - - - 29th November 2012 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the 2009 Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated August 2012 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Swale(3). The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the 2009 Act:

#### **Citation and commencement**

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Swale (Electoral Changes) Order 2012.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Swale (Electoral Changes) Order 2012", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

<sup>(</sup>**1**) 2009 c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

<sup>(3)</sup> The non-metropolitan district of Swale has the status of a borough.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(4).

#### Wards of the district of Swale and number of councillors

**3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Swale are abolished.

(2) The district is divided into twenty-four wards, each listed by name in the first column of Schedule 1.

(3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of Schedule 1.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographic feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Parish wards and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Faversham and Minster-on-Sea are abolished.

(2) The parish of Bobbing is divided into three wards, each listed by name in the first column of the first table in Schedule 2.

(3) The parish of Faversham is divided into four wards, each listed by name in the first column of the second table in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Minster-on-Sea is divided into three wards, each listed by name in the first column of the third table in Schedule 2.

(5) The parish of Tunstall is divided into two wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fourth table in Schedule 2.

(6) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(7) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of each table in Schedule 2.

<sup>(4) 1983</sup> c.2. Section 37 has been amended by the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 18(2) (repealed), the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29), Schedule 3, paragraph 5 and the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28), section 60(1).

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 29th day of November 2012



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

29th November 2012

### SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

# Names of district wards and numbers of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Abbey	2
Bobbing, Iwade and Lower Halstow	2
Borden and Grove Park	2
Boughton and Courtenay	2
Chalkwell	1
East Downs	1
Hartlip, Newington and Upchurch	2
Homewood	2
Kemsley	2
Milton Regis	2
Minster Cliffs	3
Murston	2
Priory	1
Queenborough and Halfway	3
Roman	2
Sheerness	3
Sheppey Central	3
Sheppey East	2
St Ann's	2
Teynham and Lynsted	2
The Meads	1
Watling	2
West Downs	1
Woodstock	2

### SCHEDULE 2

Article 4

# Names of parish wards and numbers of councillors

#### Table 1

### Bobbing

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Bobbing	3
Grove Park	4
The Meads	2

### Table 2

# Faversham

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Abbey	4
Priory	2
St Ann's	4
Watling	4

## Table 3

#### Minster-on-Sea

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Minster East	1
Minster North	5
Minster South	5

#### Table 4

# Tunstall (1) (2) Name of parish ward Number of councillors Tunstall Rural 2

(1)(2)Name of parish wardNumber of councillorsTunstall Urban5

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Swale following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district and replaces them with twenty-four new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and Schedule 1 establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new wards.

Article 4 replaces the wards of the parishes of Faversham and Minster-on-Sea and establishes wards in the parishes of Bobbing and Tunstall. That article, the map and Schedule 2 establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-east/kent/swale-electoral-review. The map is also available at all reasonable times at the office of the council of the district of Swale at Swale House, East Street, Sittingbourne, Kent ME10 3HT and the office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76-86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.