STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2012 No. 2986

The Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012.

- (2) With the exception of article 4, this Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013.
- (3) Article 4 comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

Divisions of the county of Derbyshire and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing divisions of the county of Derbyshire are abolished.

(2) The county is divided into sixty-one divisions, each bearing a name listed in Schedule 1.

(3) Each division comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the division.

(4) With the exception of the division of Alfreton and Somercotes, the division of Glossop and Charlesworth and the division of Eckington and Killamarsh, one councillor is to be elected for each division.

(5) Two councillors are to be elected for each of the division of Alfreton and Somercotes, the division of Glossop and Charlesworth and the division of Eckington and Killamarsh.

(6) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographic feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

^{(1) 1983} c.2. Section 37 has been amended by the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 18(2) (repealed), the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29), Schedule 3, paragraph 5 and the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28), section 60(1).

Parish wards and numbers of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the following parishes are abolished:

- (a) Codnor;
- (b) Dale Abbey;
- (c) Dronfield;
- (d) North Wingfield;
- (e) Ockbrook and Borrowash;
- (f) Old Bolsover;
- (g) South Normanton;
- (h) Staveley.

(2) The parish of Codnor is divided into two wards, each listed by name in the first column of the first table in Schedule 2.

(3) The parish of Dale Abbey is divided into three wards, each listed by name in the first column of the second table in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Dronfield is divided into eight wards, each listed by name in the first column of the third table in Schedule 2.

(5) The parish of Grassmoor, Hasland and Winswick is divided into two wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fourth table in Schedule 2.

(6) The parish of Hartington Upper Quarter is divided into two wards, each listed by name in the first column of the fifth table in Schedule 2.

(7) The parish of North Wingfield is divided into three wards, each listed by name in the first column of the sixth table in Schedule 2.

(8) The parish of Ockbrook and Borrowash is divided into three wards, each listed by name in the first column of the seventh table in Schedule 2.

(9) The parish of Old Bolsover is divided into four wards, each listed by name in the first column of the eighth table in Schedule 2.

(10) The parish of South Normanton is divided into three wards, each listed by name in the first column of the ninth table in Schedule 2.

(11) The parish of Staveley is divided into eight wards, each listed by name in the first column of the tenth table in Schedule 2.

(12) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(13) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of each table in Schedule 2.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 29th day of November 2012



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

29th November 2012