EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the county of Derbyshire following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013.

Article 3 abolishes the existing divisions of the county and replaces them with sixty-one new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and Schedule 1 establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new divisions.

Article 4 replaces the wards of the parish of Codnor, Dale Abbey, Dronfield, North Wingfield, Ockbrook and Borrowash, Old Bolsover, South Normanton and Staveley and establishes wards in the parishes of Grassmoor, Hasland and Winswick and Hartington Upper Quarter. That article, the map and Schedule 2 establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new county divisions and parish wards. It is available at www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/derbyshire/derbyshire-electoral-review. The map is also available at all reasonable times at the office of the council of the county of Derbyshire at County Hall, Matlock DE4 3AG and the office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76-86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.