STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2013 No. 1625

CORONERS, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Coroner Areas and Assistant Coroners) Transitional Order 2013

Made - - - - 2nd July 2013
Laid before Parliament 4th July 2013
Coming into force - - 25th July 2013

The Lord Chancellor, in exercise of the powers conferred by paragraph 1(3) of Schedule 2, paragraph 2(1)(a) of Schedule 3 and paragraph 1(1) of Schedule 22 to the Coroners and Justice Act 2009(1) and after consulting in accordance with paragraph 1(4) of Schedule 2 and paragraph 2(2) of Schedule 3 to that Act, makes the following Order.

Citation and commencement

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 (Coroner Areas and Assistant Coroners) Transitional Order 2013.
 - 2. This Order comes into force on the 25th July 2013.

Interpretation

3. In this Order—

"coroner's district" means a coroner's district constituted under the Coroners Act 1988(2), as it exists immediately before the day on which this Order comes into force;

"coroner area" means a coroner area specified by this Order.

Coroners' districts specified as coroner areas

4. Each coroner's district listed in the table in the Schedule to this Order is specified as a coroner area with the same name (but ending with "coroner area" instead of "coroner' district").

Appointment of an assistant coroner for each coroner area

5. At least one assistant coroner must be appointed for each coroner area specified by this Order.

^{(1) 2009} c. 25.

^{(2) 1988} c. 13.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Signed by the authority of the Lord Chancellor

Helen Grant
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Ministry of Justice

2nd July 2013

SCHEDULE Article 4

Coroner's district to be specified as a corresponding coroner area

Avon

Bedfordshire and Luton

Berkshire

Birmingham and Solihull

Black Country

Blackburn, Hyndburn and Ribble Valley

Blackpool and Fylde

Bournemouth, Poole and Eastern Dorset

Bridgend and Glamorgan Valleys/ Pen-y-bont ar Ogwr a Chymoedd Morgannwg

Brighton and Hove

Buckinghamshire

Cardiff and Vale of Glamorgan

Carmarthenshire/ Sir Gaerfyrddin

Central and South East Kent

Central Hampshire

Central Lincolnshire

Ceredigion

Cheshire

City of London

Cornwall

Coventry

Darlington and South Durham

Derby and South Derbyshire

East Lancashire

East London

East Riding and Hull

East Sussex

Essex and Thurrock

Exeter and Greater Devon

Gateshead and South Tyneside

Gloucestershire

Gwent

Hartlepool

Coroner's district to be specified as a corresponding coroner area

Herefordshire

Hertfordshire

Inner North London

Inner South London

Inner West London

Isle of Wight

Isles of Scilly

Leicester City and South Leicestershire

Liverpool

Manchester (City)

Manchester North

Manchester South

Manchester West

Mid and North West Shropshire

Mid Kent and Medway

Milton Keynes

Neath Port Talbot/ Castell-nedd Port Talbot

Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Norfolk

Northamptonshire

North and East Cambridgeshire

North and West Cumbria

North Derbyshire

North Durham

North East Hampshire

North East Kent

North Lincolnshire and Grimsby

North London

North Northumberland

North Tyneside

North Wales (East and Central)/ Gogledd Cymru (Dwyrain a Chanol

North West Kent

North West Wales / Gogledd Orllewin Cymru

North Yorkshire (Eastern)

Coroner's district to be specified as a corresponding coroner area

North Yorkshire (Western)

Nottinghamshire and Nottingham

Oxfordshire

Pembrokeshire / Sir Benfro

Peterborough

Plymouth and South West Devon

Portsmouth and South East Hampshire

Powys

Preston and West Lancashire

Rutland and North Leicestershire

Sefton, St Helens and Knowsley

Somerset (Eastern)

Somerset (Western)

South and East Cumbria

South and West Cambridgeshire

South Lincolnshire

South London

South Northumberland

South Shropshire

South Staffordshire

South Yorkshire (East)

South Yorkshire (West)

Southampton and New Forest

Southend and South East Essex

Stoke on Trent and North Staffordshire

Suffolk

Sunderland

Surrey

Swansea/ Abertawe

Teesside

The Wrekin

Torbay and South Devon

Warwickshire

Western Dorset

Coroner's district to be specified as a corresponding coroner area
West London
West Sussex
West Yorkshire (Eastern)
West Yorkshire (Western)
Wiltshire and Swindon
Wirral
Worcestershire
York

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This note specifies new coroner areas under the Coroners and Justice Act 2009 and sets out the minimum number of assistant coroners that must be appointed to each coroner area. As required by the 2009 Act, the coroner areas created by this order correspond with the coroners' districts under the Coroners Act 1988 and have the same names.