STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2014 No. 1906

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The North Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made - - - 15th July 2014 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated March 2014 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of North Dorset. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

### **Citation and commencement**

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the North Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the North Dorset (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

<sup>(</sup>**1**) 2009 c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

#### Wards of the district of North Dorset and number of councillors

**3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of North Dorset are abolished.

(2) The district of North Dorset is divided into 19 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.

(3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Blandford Forum and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Blandford Forum are abolished.

(2) The parish of Blandford Forum is divided into four parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

#### Wards of the parish of Gillingham and number of councillors

**5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Gillingham are abolished.

(2) The parish of Gillingham is divided into five parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

### Wards of the parish of Shaftesbury and number of councillors

**6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Shaftesbury are abolished.

(2) The parish of Shaftesbury is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

<sup>(3) 1983</sup> c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 15th day of July 2014



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

15th July 2014

### SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

# Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Abbey	2
Blackmore	2
Blandford Central	2
Blandford Hilltop	1
Blandford Langton St Leonards	1
Blandford Old Town	1
Bulbarrow	1
Gillingham Rural	2
Gillingham Town	3
Hill Forts	3
Lower Tarrants	1
Lydden Vale	1
Motcombe & Bourton	2
Riversdale & Portman	2
Shaftesbury East	2
Shaftesbury West	2
Sturminster Newton	2
The Beacon	1
The Stours & Marnhull	2

## SCHEDULE 2

Articles 4 to 6

### Table 1

# Wards of the parish of Blandford Forum and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Blandford Central	7
Blandford Hilltop	3
Blandford Langton St Leonards	3

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Blandford Old Town	3

### Table 2

## Wards of the parish of Gillingham and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Gillingham Rural	1
Gillingham Town	9
Ham	2
Milton-on-Stour	1
Wyke	4



### Wards of the parish of Shaftesbury and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Shaftesbury East	6
Shaftesbury West	6

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of North Dorset following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of North Dorset and replaces them with 19 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and Schedule 1 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Articles 4, 5 and 6 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of (i) Blandford Forum, (ii) Gillingham and (iii) Shaftesbury respectively and replace them with new ones. Those articles, the map and Schedule 2 also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at http:// www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-west/dorset/north-dorset-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of North Dorset District Council, Salisbury Road, Blandford Forum, Dorset DT11 7LL and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.