STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No. 1911

The Selby (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Selby (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.

- (2) This Order comes into force-----
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Selby (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

Wards of the district of Selby and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Selby are abolished.

(2) The district of Selby is divided into 19 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in the Schedule.

(3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Barlby with Osgodby and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Barlby with Osgodby are abolished.

(2) The parish of Barlby with Osgodby is divided into three parish wards named respectively—

- (a) Barlby Bridge;
- (b) Barlby Osgodby;

 ¹⁹⁸³ c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

(c) Barlby Village.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

- (4) Seven councillors are to be elected for Barlby Village parish ward.
- (5) Two councillors are to be elected for each of Barlby Bridge and Barlby Osgodby parish wards.

Wards of the parish of Selby and number of councillors

5.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Selby are abolished.

- (2) The parish of Selby is divided into four parish wards named respectively—
 - (a) Selby North;
 - (b) Selby South;
 - (c) Selby West;
 - (d) St James.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

- (4) Six councillors are to be elected for each of Selby South and Selby West parish wards.
- (5) Five councillors are to be elected for Selby North parish ward.
- (6) One councillor is to be elected for St James parish ward.

Wards of the parish of Wistow and number of councillors

6.--(1) The parish of Wistow is divided into two parish wards named respectively--

- (a) Clog Mill Gardens;
- (b) Wistow.

(2) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

- (3) Six councillors are to be elected for Wistow parish ward.
- (4) One councillor is to be elected for Clog Mill Gardens parish ward.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 14th day of July 2014



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

14th July 2014