### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2014 No. 23

# The South Oxfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the South Oxfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

## Interpretation

#### 2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the South Oxfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

# Wards of the district of South Oxfordshire and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of South Oxfordshire are abolished.
- (2) The district of South Oxfordshire is divided into 21 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the Schedule.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

# Wards of the parish of Didcot and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Didcot are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Didcot is divided into six parish wards named respectively—
  - (a) All Saints;
  - (b) Ladygrove;

<sup>(1) 1983</sup> c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

- (c) Millbrook;
- (d) Northbourne;
- (e) Orchard;
- (f) Park.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
  - (4) Five councillors are to be elected for All Saints parish ward.
  - (5) Seven councillors are to be elected for Ladygrove parish ward.
  - (6) One councillor is to be elected for each of Millbrook and Orchard parish wards.
  - (7) Four councillors are to be elected for Northbourne parish ward.
  - (8) Three councillors are to be elected for Park parish ward.

#### Amendment and revocation

- 5. In the Oxfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012(2)—
  - (a) in article 2(2), delete the reference to article "12";
  - (b) article 12 is revoked.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the 8th day of January 2014



Max Caller
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

8th January 2014