STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No. 3290

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Breckland (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made--2nd December 2014Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated July 2014 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Breckland. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Breckland (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Breckland (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

Wards of the district of Breckland and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Breckland are abolished.

(2) The district of Breckland is divided into 27 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in the Schedule.

(3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Attleborough and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Attleborough are abolished.

- (2) The parish of Attleborough is divided into two parish wards named respectively-
 - (a) Burgh;
 - (b) Queens.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

- (4) Nine councillors are to be elected for Burgh parish ward.
- (5) Six councillors are to be elected for Queens parish ward.

Wards of the parish of Dereham and number of councillors

5.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Dereham are abolished.

- (2) The parish of Dereham is divided into five parish wards named respectively—
 - (a) Central East;
 - (b) Central West;
 - (c) Neatherd;
 - (d) Toftwood;
 - (e) Withburga.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

- (4) One councillor is to be elected for Central East parish ward.
- (5) Two councillors are to be elected for each of Central West and Withburga parish wards.
- (6) Four councillors are to be elected for Neatherd parish ward.
- (7) Three councillors are to be elected for Toftwood parish ward.

^{(3) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Wards of the parish of Thetford and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Thetford are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Thetford is divided into six parish wards named respectively—
 - (a) Anne Bartholomew;
 - (b) Boudica;
 - (c) Burrell;
 - (d) Castle;
 - (e) Priory;
 - (f) Vicarage Road.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) One councillor is to be elected for each of Anne Bartholomew and Vicarage Road parish wards.

(5) Three councillors are to be elected for each of Boudica and Priory parish wards.

(6) Four councillors are to be elected for each of Burrell and Castle parish wards.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

2nd December 2014

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
All Saints & Wayland	2
Ashill	1
Bedingfeld	1
Attleborough Burgh & Haverscroft	2
Attleborough Queens & Besthorpe	3
Dereham Neatherd	3
Dereham Toftwood	2
Dereham Withburga	2
Forest	2
Guilteross	1
Harling & Heathlands	1
Hermitage	1
Launditch	1
Lincoln	2
Mattishall	2
Nar Valley	1
Necton	1
Saham Toney	2
Shipdham-with-Scarning	2
Swaffham	3
The Buckenhams & Banham	1
Thetford Boudica	2
Thetford Burrell	2
Thetford Castle	2
Thetford Priory	2
Upper Wensum	2
Watton	3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Breckland, following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Breckland and replaces them with 27 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Articles 4 to 6 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of (i) Attleborough (ii) Dereham and (iii) Thetford and replace them with new ones. Those articles and the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at https:// www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/eastern/norfolk/breckland-fer. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Breckland District Council, Elizabeth House, Walpole Loke, Dereham, Norfolk NR19 1EE and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.