STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2014 No. 3338

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Darlington (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made - - - - 16th December 2014 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated August 2014 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Darlington. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

#### **Citation and commencement**

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Darlington (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Darlington (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

<sup>(1) 2009</sup> c.20.

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

#### Wards of the district of Darlington and number of councillors

**3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Darlington are abolished.

(2) The district of Darlington is divided into 20 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in the Schedule.

(3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

#### Wards of the parish of Hurworth and number of councillors

4.—(1) The parish of Hurworth is divided into two parish wards named respectively—

- (a) Hurworth;
- (b) The Lanes.

(2) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

- (3) 11 councillors are to be elected for Hurworth parish ward.
- (4) One councillor is to be elected for The Lanes parish ward.

### Wards of the parish of Low Dinsdale and number of councillors

5.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Low Dinsdale are abolished.

- (2) The parish of Low Dinsdale is divided into two parish wards named respectively—
  - (a) Low Dinsdale North;
  - (b) Low Dinsdale South.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

- (4) Six councillors are to be elected for Low Dinsdale North parish ward.
- (5) One councillor is to be elected for Low Dinsdale South parish ward.

#### Wards of the parish of Whessoe and number of councillors

**6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Whessoe are abolished.

(2) The parish of Whessoe is divided into two parish wards named respectively—

- (a) Harrowgate Hill;
- (b) Whessoe.

<sup>(3) 1983</sup> c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

- (4) Six councillors are to be elected for Harrowgate Hill parish ward.
- (5) One councillor is to be elected for Whessoe parish ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

16th December 2014

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

## SCHEDULE

Article 3

(1)	(2)
Name of district ward	Number of councillors
Bank Top & Lascelles	3
Brinkburn & Faverdale	3
Cockerton	3
College	2
Eastbourne	3
Harrowgate Hill	3
Haughton & Springfield	3
Heighington & Coniscliffe	2
Hummersknott	2
Hurworth	2
Mowden	2
North Road	3
Northgate	2
Park East	3
Park West	2
Pierremont	3
Red Hall & Lingfield	2
Sadberge & Middleton St George	3
Stephenson	2
Whinfield	2

# Names of district wards and number of councillors

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

### (This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Darlington, which is a non-metropolitan district with borough status, following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Darlington and replaces them with 20 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

Article 4 creates parish wards in the parish of Hurworth, which was formerly unwarded. Articles 5 and 6 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of (i) Low Dinsdale and (ii) Whessoe and replace them with new ones. Articles 4 to 6 and the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district and parish wards. It is available at [insert link]. The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Darlington Borough Council, Town Hall, Feethams, Darlington, County Durham, DL1 5QT and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.