STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No. 3339

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Leicester (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Made - - - 16th December 2014 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated August 2014 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Leicester. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act:

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Leicester (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Leicester (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

^{(1) 2009} c.20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(3).

Wards of the district of Leicester and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Leicester are abolished.

(2) The district of Leicester is divided into 21 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in the Schedule.

(3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

16th December 2014

^{(3) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

SCHEDULE

Article 3

Names of district wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)	
Name of district ward	Number of councillors	
Abbey	3	
Aylestone	2	
Beaumont Leys	3	
Belgrave	3	
Braunstone Park & Rowley Fields	3	
Castle	3	
Evington	3	
Eyres Monsell	2	
Fosse	2	
Humberstone & Hamilton	3	
Knighton	3	
North Evington	3	
Rushey Mead	3	
Saffron	2	
Spinney Hills	2	
Stoneygate	3	
Thurncourt	2	
Troon	2	
Westcotes	2	
Western	3	
Wycliffe	2	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Leicester, which is a nonmetropolitan district with city status, following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged. The electoral changes apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Article 3 abolishes the existing wards of the district of Leicester and replaces them with 21 new ones. That article, the map (as defined in article 2) and the Schedule also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new district wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new district wards. It is available at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/ __data/assets/pdf_file/0009/23040/Leicester_F_Sht1_SO.pdf . The map is also available for inspection at all reasonable times at the offices of Leicester City Council, City Hall, 115 Charles Street, Leicester LE1 1FZ and at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England at Layden House, 76 – 86 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5LG.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.