STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2015 No. 1860

The Rochford (Electoral Changes) Order 2015

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Rochford (Electoral Changes) Order 2015.

- (2) Except for articles 5, 6, 7 and 10, this Order comes into force-
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2016.
- (3) Articles 5, 6 and 7 come into force-
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2018;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.
- (4) Article 10 comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2017;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2018.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Rochford (Electoral Changes) Order 2015", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

Wards of the district of Rochford and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Rochford are abolished.

(2) The district of Rochford is divided into 13 district wards, each listed by name in Schedule 1.

(3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.

(4) Three councillors are to be elected for each district ward.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

 ¹⁹⁸³ c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Elections of the council of the district of Rochford

4.—(1) Elections of all councillors of each ward of the district of Rochford are to be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2016.

(2) The councillors holding office for any ward of the district of Rochford immediately before the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2016 are to retire on that fourth day and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on that fourth day.

(3) Of the councillors elected on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2016 for any ward of the district of Rochford, one is to retire in 2018 and one in 2019.

(4) Subject to paragraphs (5) and (6), of the councillors elected on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2016—

- (a) the first to retire is to be the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes; and
- (b) the second to retire is to be the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes.

(5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire that year is to be determined by lot.

(6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each year is to be determined by lot.

(7) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot is to be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing is to be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

Wards of the parish of Ashingdon and number of councillors

5.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Ashingdon are abolished.

(2) The parish of Ashingdon is divided into three parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Barling Magna and number of councillors

6.—(1) The parish of Barling Magna is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

(2) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(3) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Hawkwell and number of councillors

7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Hawkwell are abolished.

(2) The parish of Hawkwell is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Hockley and number of councillors

8.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Hockley are abolished.

(2) The parish of Hockley is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 4 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Rayleigh and number of councillors

9.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Rayleigh are abolished.

(2) The parish of Rayleigh is divided into seven parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 5 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 5 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Rochford and number of councillors

10.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Rochford are abolished.

(2) The parish of Rochford is divided into two parish wards, each listed by name in the first column of table 6 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 6 in Schedule 2.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Date 3rd November 2015