STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2015 No. 2063

The Winchester (Electoral Changes) Order 2015

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Winchester (Electoral Changes) Order 2015.

(2) This article and article 2 of this Order come into force on the day after this Order is made.

(3) Articles 3, 4, 6 and 8 of, Schedules 1 and 2 and Schedule 3 (insofar as it relates to articles 6 and 8) to, this Order come into force—

- (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
- (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2016.

(4) Articles 5 and 7 of, and Schedule 3 (insofar as it relates to those articles) to, this Order come into force—

- (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
- (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

Interpretation

2. In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Winchester (Electoral Changes) Order 2015", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(**2**).

Wards of the city of Winchester and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the city of Winchester are abolished.

(2) The city of Winchester is divided into 16 wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.

(3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Elections of the council of the city of Winchester

4.—(1) Elections of all councillors of each ward of the city of Winchester are to be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2016.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 c.2.

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP and is also accessible online at https:// www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/south-east/hampshire/winchester

(2) The councillors holding office for any ward abolished by article 3(1) immediately before the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2016 are to retire on that fourth day and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on that fourth day.

(3) The newly elected councillors are to retire at the times specified in the table in Schedule 2.

(4) Of the councillors elected for a ward in 2016, subject to paragraphs (5) and (6)-

(a) the first to retire is to be the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes; and

(b) the second to retire is to be the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes.

(5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire in that year is to be determined by lot.

(6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each year is to be determined by lot.

(7) An election to replace a councillor who retires under paragraph (3) is to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year in which the retirement took place; and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on the fourth day after that day.

(8) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot is to be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing is to be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

Wards of the parish of Littleton & Harestock and number of councillors

5.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Littleton & Harestock are abolished.

(2) The parish of Littleton & Harestock is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 3.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 1 in Schedule 3.

Wards of the parish of Shedfield and number of councillors

6.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Shedfield are abolished.

(2) The parish of Shedfield is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 3.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 2 in Schedule 3.

Wards of the parish of South Wonston and number of councillors

7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of South Wonston are abolished.

(2) The parish of South Wonston is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 3.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 3 in Schedule 3.

Wards of the parish of Southwick & Widley and number of councillors

8.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Southwick & Widley are abolished.

(2) The parish of Southwick & Widley is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 3.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 4 in Schedule 3.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Max Caller Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Date 11th December 2015