STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2016 No. 115

The Warrington (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Warrington (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.

- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after this Order is made.
- (3) The remainder of this Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2016.

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Warrington (Electoral Changes) Order 2016", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

(2) Where the boundary of a ward or parish ward is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the district of Warrington and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Warrington are abolished.

(2) The district of Warrington is divided into 22 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.

(3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parish of Appleton and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Appleton are abolished.

(2) The parish of Appleton is divided into three parish wards as listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 c.2.

Wards of the parish of Burtonwood & Westbrook and number of councillors

5.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Burtonwood & Westbrook are abolished.

(2) The parish of Burtonwood & Westbrook is divided into three parish wards as listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Grappenhall & Thelwall and number of councillors

6.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Grappenhall & Thelwall are abolished.

(2) The parish of Grappenhall & Thelwall is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Great Sankey and number of councillors

7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Great Sankey are abolished.

(2) The parish of Great Sankey is divided into five parish wards as listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 4 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Lymm and number of councillors

8.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Lymm are abolished.

(2) The parish of Lymm is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 5 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 5 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Poulton-with-Fearnhead and number of councillors

9.--(1) The existing wards of the parish of Poulton-with-Fearnhead are abolished.

(2) The parish of Poulton-with-Fearnhead is divided into four parish wards as listed in the first column of table 6 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 6 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Stockton Heath and number of councillors

10.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Stockton Heath are abolished.

(2) The parish of Stockton Heath is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 7 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 7 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Walton and number of councillors

11.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Walton are abolished.

(2) The parish of Walton is divided into two parish wards as listed in the first column of table 8 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 8 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Winwick and number of councillors

12.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Winwick are abolished.

(2) The parish of Winwick is divided into three parish wards as listed in the first column of table 9 in Schedule 2.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 8 in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Date 4th February 2016