## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the county of Cambridgeshire following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the county remains unchanged. The electoral changes in article 3 apply in respect of local government elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2017. The electoral changes in articles 4 to 7 apply in respect of such elections in 2018. The electoral changes in articles 8 to 10 apply in respect of such elections in 2019.

Article 3 abolishes the existing divisions of the county of Cambridgeshire and replaces them with 59 new ones. That article together with the map (as defined in article 2) also establish the names, areas and number of councillors, of the new electoral divisions.

Articles 4 to 10 abolish the existing wards of the parishes of Fen Ditton, Huntingdon, St Ives, St Neots, March, Whittlesey and Wisbech St Mary respectively and replace them with new ones. Those articles together with the map also establish the names, areas and number of councillors of the new parish wards.

The map defined in article 2 shows the new county and parish wards. It is available at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/eastern/cambridgeshire/cambridgeshire-county-council The map is also available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.