STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2016 No. 1230

The East Cambridgeshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the East Cambridgeshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) The remainder of this Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales(1) in 2019.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the East Cambridgeshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the district of East Cambridgeshire and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of East Cambridgeshire are abolished.
- (2) The district of East Cambridgeshire is divided into 14 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the City of Ely and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the City of Ely are abolished.
- (2) The City of Ely is divided into four parish wards as listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

Wards of the parish of Soham and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Soham are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Soham is divided into three parish wards as listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

15th December 2016