#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 2016 No. 657

# The Devon (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Devon (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after this Order is made.
- (3) Article 3 comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2017.
- (4) The remainder of this Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

## Interpretation

**2.** In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Devon (Electoral Changes) Order 2016", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(**2**).

#### Divisions of the county of Devon and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing divisions of the county of Devon are abolished.
- (2) The county of Devon is divided into 58 divisions as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
- (3) Each division comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the division.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each division is the number specified in relation to that division in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

### Wards of the parish of Exmouth and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Exmouth are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Exmouth is divided into six parish wards as listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

<sup>(1)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 c.2.

<sup>(2)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP and is accessible online at www.lgbce.org.uk.

- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

## Wards of the parish of Teignmouth and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Teignmouth are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Teignmouth is divided into four parish wards as listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 2 in Schedule 2.

## Wards of the parish of Tiverton and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Tiverton are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Tiverton is divided into five parish wards as listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 3 in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

7th June 2016