STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2016 No. 820

HARBOURS, DOCKS, PIERS AND FERRIES

The Harbour Directions (Designation of Harbour Authorities) Order 2016

Made	28th July 2016
Laid before Parliament	5th August 2016
Coming into force	1st October 2016

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 40A(4)(b) of the Harbours Act 1964(**a**), makes the following Order.

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Harbour Directions (Designation of Harbour Authorities) Order 2016.

(2) This Order comes into force on 1st October 2016.

Designation

2. The harbour authority for each harbour described in the Schedule is a designated harbour authority for the purpose of harbour directions.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Transport

John Hayes Minister of State Department for Transport

28th July 2016

(a) 1964 c.40. Section 40A was inserted by the Marine Navigation Act 2013 c.23, section 5(1).

SCHEDULE

1. Barrow Harbour, being the harbour the limits of which are—

- (a) described in section 14 (limits of harbour) of the Furness Railway and Barrow Harbour Act 1863(a);
- (b) extended by section 23 (extending the limits within which powers of the harbour master may be exercised) of the Furness Railway Act 1879(**b**); and
- (c) extended by section 6 (extension of limits of harbour master) of the Furness Railway Act 1899(c).

2. Garston Harbour, being the harbour comprising—

- (a) the area (now known as the "Old Dock") authorised by section 8 (power to make railway docks according to deposited plans) of the Saint Helens Canal and Railway Company Act 1846(d);
- (b) the area (now known as the "North Dock") authorised by section 4 (power to execute works according to deposited plans) of the London and North-Western Railway (New Works and Additional Powers) Act 1867(e); and
- (c) the area (now known as "Stalbridge Dock") authorised by section 15 (power to make dock) of the London and North Western Railway Act 1902(**f**).

3. Hull Harbour, being the harbour comprising —

- (a) the Western Dock authorised by section 32 (new works authorised by Act) of the Hull Docks Act 1861 (and now known as the "Albert Dock")(g), extended by section 49 (limits of dock master's powers) of the North Eastern Railway Act 1905(h) and extended further by section 36 (limit of dock master's powers) of the London and North Eastern Railway Act 1947(i);
- (b) the alterations and enlargements to the Western Dock authorised by section 8 (new works authorised by Act) of the Hull Docks Act 1866(j) and section 7 (new works authorised by Act) of the Hull Docks Act 1867(k) (and now known as the "William Wright Dock");
- (c) the area (now known as the "Alexandra Dock") authorised by section 137 (limits within which dock master may exercise his authority) of the Hull, Barnsley and West Riding Junction Railway and Dock Act 1880(I), extended by section 20 (extension of limits of dock master's jurisdiction) of the Hull and Barnsley Railway Act 1907(m) and extended further by section 36 (limit of dock master's powers) of the London and North Eastern Railway Act 1947;
- (d) the area (now known as "King George Dock" and including the "Queen Elizabeth Dock Extension") authorised by section 78 (limits of dock master's authority) of the Hull Joint Dock Act 1899(n) and extended by section 13 (limits of jurisdiction of dock master) of the Associated British Ports (Hull) Act 1989(o); and

- (**h**) 1905 c.cci.
- (i) 1947 c.xlii.
- (**j**) 1866 c.lxxvii.
- (k) 1867 c.xxv.
 (l) 1880 c.cxcix.
- (**m**) 1907 c.lxvii.
- (**n**) 1899 c.ccxlii.
- (**o**) 1989 c.x.

⁽**a**) 1863 c.lxxxix.

⁽b) 1879 c.cxlvi.
(c) 1899 c.clxv.

⁽d) 1846 c.clxxxiii.

⁽e) 1867 c.cxliv.

⁽**f**) 1902 c.clxix.

⁽g) 1861 c.lxxix.

(e) otherwise extended by section 16 of the British Transport Docks Act 1967(a), by section 15(1) of the British Transport Docks Act 1969, by section 12 of the British Transport Docks Act 1971(b), by section 12 of the British Transport Docks Act 1973(c) and article 10 of the Associated British Ports (Hull) Harbour Revision Order 2006(d).

4. Newport (South Wales) Harbour, being the harbour the limits of which are—

- (a) described in section 30 (limits of powers of dock lock and pier masters) of the Newport Dock (Transfer) Act 1883(e);
- (b) extended by section 43 (limits of dock master's jurisdiction) of the Alexandra (Newport and South Wales) Docks and Railway Act 1904(**f**);
- (c) extended by section 32 (limits of dock master's jurisdiction) of the Alexandra (Newport and South Wales) Docks and Railway Act 1906(g); and
- (d) extended by section 14 (limits of dock master's jurisdiction at Newport (Monmouthshire)) of the British Transport Docks Act 1969(**h**).

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates the harbour authorities for the harbours described in the Schedule as authorities which may give harbour directions in respect of ships in accordance with sections 40A to 40D of the Harbours Act 1964.

The harbours are those of Associated British Ports at Barrow, Garston, Hull and Newport (South Wales).

The harbour directions which may be given by designated harbour authorities for the regulation of ships within their harbours relate to their movement, mooring, equipment and manning.

An impact assessment of the effect this instrument will have on the costs of business and the voluntary sector is published with the Explanatory Memorandum alongside this instrument on www.legislation.gov.uk.

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

(a) 1967 c.xxxi, as amended by section 15(2) of the British Transport Docks Act 1969 c.xxiii

(**b**) 1971 c.lix.

- (c) 1973 c.xiii.
- (d) S.I. 2006/1135. (e) 1883 c.clxxix.
- (f) 1904 c.cxciii.
- (g) 1904 c.cxcm
- (**h**) 1969 c.xxiii.

[©] Crown copyright 2016

ISBN 978-0-11-114907-2 9 780111 149072

£4.25

UK201607286 08/2016 19585

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2016/820