2017 No. 117

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Ashford (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Made - - - 2nd February 2017

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

Under section 92(2) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007(a) Ashford Borough Council made recommendations in a review to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) for the alteration of boundaries of electoral divisions within that Council's area related to changes to the boundaries of parish wards within that Councils area under section 86(2) of that Act.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has decided to give effect to the recommendations and makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 92(3) of that Act.

Citation and commencement

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Ashford (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary, or relating, to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales(c) in 2017.

Alterations of electoral division boundaries

- 2.—(1) The areas that cease to be part of the parishes listed in the first column of table 1 in the Schedule and become part of the parishes listed in the second column of that table in consequence of the Ashford (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2016(d), cease to be part of the electoral divisions listed in the third column of that table and become part of the electoral divisions listed in the fourth column of that table.
- (2) The unparished areas in the first column of table 2 in the Schedule that become part of the parishes listed in the second column of that table in consequence of the Ashford (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2016, cease to be part of the electoral divisions listed in the

⁽a) 2007 c. 28. Section 92 was amended by the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c. 20).

⁽b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20).

⁽c) The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2) as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

⁽d) The Ashford (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2016 was made by Ashford Borough Council under section 86 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c. 28). Orders of this kind are not required to be made by statutory instrument.

third column of that table and become part of the electoral divisions listed in the fourth column of that table.

- (3) The area that ceases to be part of the parish of Kingsnorth and becomes an unparished area in consequence of the Ashford (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2016, ceases to be part of the electoral division of Ashford Rural South and becomes part of the electoral division of Ashford Rural East.
 - (4) In this article—

"electoral divisions" means the electoral divisions as named in Schedule 1 to the Kent (Electoral Changes) Order 2016(a).

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



2nd February 2017

Jolyon Jackson
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for England

SCHEDULE

Article 2

Related alterations of electoral division boundaries

Table 1

| Column 1 | Column 2 | Column 3 | Column 4 |
|-----------------|----------------------------|----------------------------|-----------------------|
| From parish | To parish | From electoral division | To electoral division |
| Kingsnorth | Great Chart with Singleton | Ashford Rural South | Ashford Rural West |
| Kingsnorth | Mersham | Ashford Rural South | Ashford Rural East |
| Kingsnorth | Sevington | Ashford Rural South | Ashford Rural East |
| Table 2 | | | |
| Column 1 | Column 2 | Column 3 | Column 4 |
| Area | To parish | From electoral division | To electoral division |
| Unparished area | Kingsnorth | Ashford Rural East | Ashford Rural South |
| Unparished area | Westwell | Ashford Central | Ashford Rural West |

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations made by Ashford Borough Council to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England for alterations of electoral division boundaries in

⁽a) S.I. 2016/658.

the County of Kent. The alterations relate to parish boundary changes made by the Ashford (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2016.

The new electoral division boundaries apply in respect of elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2017.

Article 2 alters the electoral divisions of Ashford Rural South, Ashford Rural West, Ashford Central and Ashford Rural East.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.

© Crown copyright 2017

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.



£4.25

UK201702081000 02/2017 19585

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/id/uksi/2017/117