STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2017 No. 128

# LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Vale of White Horse (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Made - - - 8th February 2017 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 92(2) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007(1) ("the Act") Vale of White Horse District Council ("the Council") made recommendations to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) for the related alteration of the boundaries of county electoral divisions and district wards within the Council's area.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has decided to give effect to the recommendations and, in exercise of the power conferred by section 92(3) of the Act, makes the following Order:

### **Citation and commencement**

**1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the Vale of White Horse (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.

- (2) Except for article 3, this Order comes into force-
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.
- (3) Article 3 comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day it is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2017.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

 <sup>2007</sup> c.28; section 92 has been amended by section 67(1) of, and paragraphs 11 and 32 of Schedule 4 to, the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 (c.20) ("the 2009 Act").

<sup>(2)</sup> The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established by section 55(1) of the 2009 Act. The functions of the Electoral Commission under Chapter 3 of Part 4 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28) ("the 2007 Act") were transferred to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England with effect from 1st April 2010 by section 60 of the 2009 Act.

"the 2015 Order" means the Vale of White Horse District Council (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2015(3);

"county electoral division" means an electoral division established by article 4 of the Oxfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012(4);

"district ward" means a district ward established by article 3 of the Vale of White Horse (Electoral Changes) Order 2014(5);

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(6).

### Related alterations of county electoral division boundaries

**3.**—(1) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Fyfield and Tubney and becomes part of the parish of Marcham in consequence of the 2015 Order ceases to be part of Kingston & Cumnor county electoral division and becomes part of Sutton Courtenay & Marcham county electoral division.

(2) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Besselsleigh and becomes part of the parish of St Helen Without in consequence of the 2015 Order ceases to be part of Kingston & Cumnor county electoral division and becomes part of Sutton Courtenay & Marcham county electoral division.

(3) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Harwell and becomes part of the parish of Sutton Courtenay in consequence of the 2015 Order ceases to be part of Hendreds & Harwell county electoral division and becomes part of Sutton Courtenay & Marcham county electoral division.

### Related alterations of district ward boundaries

**4.**—(1) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Fyfield and Tubney and becomes part of the parish of Marcham in consequence of the 2015 Order ceases to be part of Thames district ward and becomes part of Marcham district ward.

(2) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Besselsleigh and becomes part of the parish of Cumnor in consequence of the 2015 Order ceases to be part of Thames district ward and becomes part of Cumnor district ward.

(3) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Cumnor and becomes part of the parish of Besselsleigh in consequence of the 2015 Order ceases to be part of Cumnor district ward and becomes part of Thames district ward.

(4) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Besselsleigh and becomes part of the parish of St Helen Without in consequence of the 2015 Order ceases to be part of Thames district ward and becomes part of Wootton district ward.

(5) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Marcham and becomes part of the parish of St Helen Without in consequence of the 2015 Order ceases to be part of Marcham district ward and becomes part of Wootton district ward.

(6) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Sutton Courtenay and becomes part of the parish of Milton in consequence of the 2015 Order ceases to be part of Sutton Courtenay district ward and becomes part of Drayton district ward.

<sup>(3)</sup> The Vale of White Horse District Council (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2015 was made by Vale of White Horse District Council in exercise of powers under Part 4 of the 2007 Act. Orders of this kind are not required to be made by statutory instrument.

<sup>(4)</sup> S.I. 2012/1812.

<sup>(5)</sup> S.I. 2014/24.

<sup>(6) 1983</sup> c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

**Status:** This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(7) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Milton and becomes part of the parish of Sutton Courtenay in consequence of the 2015 Order ceases to be part of Drayton district ward and becomes part of Sutton Courtenay district ward.

(8) Each area that ceases to be part of the parish of Harwell and becomes part of the parish of Sutton Courtenay in consequence of the 2015 Order ceases to be part of Blewberry & Harwell district ward and becomes part of Sutton Courtenay district ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

8th February 2017

## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

#### (This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations made by Vale of White Horse District Council to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England for related alterations of county electoral division and district ward boundaries. These alterations are related to parish boundary changes made by the Vale of White Horse District Council (Reorganisation of Community Governance) Order 2015.

The new county electoral division and district ward boundaries apply in respect of elections to be held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2017 and 2019 respectively.

Article 3 alters the county electoral divisions of (i) Kingston & Cumnor, (ii) Sutton Courtenay & Marcham and (iii) Hendreds & Harwell. Article 4 alters the district wards of (i) Thames, (ii) Marcham, (iii) Cumnor, (iv) Wootton, (v) Sutton Courtenay, (vi) Drayton and (vii) Blewberry & Harwell.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.