EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for Dorset following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. Dorset is established as a unitary authority, with effect from 1st April 2019, by virtue of the Bournemouth, Dorset and Poole (Structural Changes) Order 2018 (S.I. 2018/648). The changes made by this Order apply in respect of local government elections held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

Article 3 provides for the creation of 52 new electoral wards and establishes the names and areas of those wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards which are consequential to the changes made by article 3.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-west/dorset/dorset

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.