STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2018 No. 1375

The West Suffolk (Electoral Changes) Order 2018

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the West Suffolk (Electoral Changes) Order 2018.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2019.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the West Suffolk (Electoral Changes) Order 2018", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the district of West Suffolk and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of West Suffolk are abolished.
- (2) The district of West Suffolk is divided into 43 wards as listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Brandon, Bury St Edmunds, Haverhill, Mildenhall, Newmarket and Rushbrooke with Rougham

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Brandon, Bury St Edmunds, Haverhill, Mildenhall, Newmarket and Rushbrooke with Rougham are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Brandon is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4)

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/eastern/suffolk/west-suffolk

- (3) The parish of Bury St Edmunds is divided into the nine parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Haverhill is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Mildenhall is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Newmarket is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of table 5 in Schedule 2.
- (7) The parish of Rushbrooke with Rougham is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 6 in Schedule 2.
- (8) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (9) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

17th December 2018