STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2020 No. 1281

OVERSEAS TERRITORIES SANCTIONS

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (Sanctions) (Overseas Territories) Order 2020

Made - - - - 11th November 2020

Laid before Parliament 18th November 2020

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(1)

At the Court at Windsor Castle, the 11th day of November 2020 Present,

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council

Under Article 41 of the Charter of the United Nations the Security Council of the United Nations has, by a resolution adopted on 31st March 2008, called upon Her Majesty's Government in the United Kingdom to apply certain measures to give effect to decisions of that Council in relation to the Democratic Republic of the Congo(1):

Her Majesty, in exercise of the powers conferred on Her by section 1 of the United Nations Act 1946(2) and section 63(3)(c) and (4) of the Sanctions and Anti-Money Laundering Act 2018(3), is pleased, by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, to make the following Order:

⁽¹⁾ The Security Council of the United Nations adopted resolution 1807 (2008) on 31 March 2008 ("resolution 1807"). Paragraph 9 of resolution 1807 requires States to take the necessary measures to prevent the entry into or transit through their territories of all persons designated pursuant to paragraph 13 of that resolution. Paragraph 9 of resolution 1807 was renewed by paragraph 3 of resolution 1857 (2008) adopted by the Security Council on 22 December 2008, paragraph 3 of resolution 1896 (2009) adopted by the Security Council on 30 November 2009, paragraph 3 of resolution 1952 (2010) adopted by the Security Council on 29 November 2010, paragraph 3 of resolution 2021 (2011) adopted by the Security Council on 29 November 2011, paragraph 3 of resolution 2078 (2012) adopted by the Security Council on 28 November 2012, paragraph 3 of resolution 2136 (2014) adopted by the Security Council on 30 January 2014, paragraph 3 of resolution 2198 (2015) adopted by the Security Council on 29 January 2015, paragraph 5 of resolution 2293 (2016) adopted by the Security Council on 23 June 2016, paragraph 1 of resolution 2360 (2017) adopted by the Security Council on 21 June 2017, paragraph 1 of resolution 2424 (2018) adopted by the Security Council on 29 June 2018, paragraph 1 of resolution 25 June 2020.

^{(2) 1946} c.45.

^{(3) 2018} c.13.