EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020 (S.I. 2020/568) ("the International Travel Regulations") to remove Namibia, the United States Virgin Islands and Uruguay from the list of exempt countries and territories in Schedule A1 to the International Travel Regulations, from which passengers arriving in England are not required to self-isolate. The changes to Schedule A1 will not affect passengers who arrive in England before 4.00 a.m. on 19th December 2020.

A new exemption from the requirement to self-isolate has been added in relation to certain authorised workers engaged on Phase One of the HS2 rail project.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument. An explanatory memorandum has been published alongside this instrument at www.legislation.gov.uk.