STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2020 No. 306

The Wiltshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2020

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Wiltshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2020.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2020;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(1) in 2021.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Wiltshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2020", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Divisions of Wiltshire and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing divisions of Wiltshire are abolished.
- (2) Wiltshire is divided into the 98 divisions listed in Schedule 1.
- (3) Each division comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the division.
 - (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each division is one.

Wards of the parishes in Wiltshire

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the following parishes in Wiltshire are abolished—
 - (a) Amesbury;
 - (b) Box;
 - (c) Bradford-on-Avon;
 - (d) Calne;
 - (e) Calne Without;

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-west/wiltshire-unitary-authority-ua.

- (f) Chippenham;
- (g) Corsham;
- (h) Devizes;
- (i) Laverstock & Ford;
- (j) Ludgershall;
- (k) Marlborough;
- (l) Melksham;
- (m) Melksham Without;
- (n) Royal Wootton Bassett;
- (o) Salisbury;
- (p) Tidworth;
- (q) Trowbridge;
- (r) Warminster; and
- (s) Westbury.
- (2) The parish of Amesbury is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Box is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Bradford-on-Avon is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Calne is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Calne Without is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of table 5 in Schedule 2.
- (7) The parish of Chippenham is divided into the eight parish wards listed in the first column of table 6 in Schedule 2.
- (8) The parish of Corsham is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 7 in Schedule 2.
- (9) The parish of Devizes is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 8 in Schedule 2.
- (10) The parish of Durrington is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 9 in Schedule 2.
- (11) The parish of Idmiston is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 10 in Schedule 2.
- (12) The parish of Lacock is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 11 in Schedule 2.
- (13) The parish of Langley Burrell Without is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 12 in Schedule 2.
- (14) The parish of Laverstock & Ford is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 13 in Schedule 2.
- (15) The parish of Ludgershall is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 14 in Schedule 2.

- (16) The parish of Malmesbury is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 15 in Schedule 2.
- (17) The parish of Marlborough is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 16 in Schedule 2.
- (18) The parish of Melksham is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 17 in Schedule 2.
- (19) The parish of Melksham Without is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 18 in Schedule 2.
- (20) The parish of Netherhampton is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 19 in Schedule 2.
- (21) The parish of North Bradley is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 20 in Schedule 2.
- (22) The parish of Royal Wootton Bassett is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 21 in Schedule 2.
- (23) The parish of Salisbury is divided into the nine parish wards listed in the first column of table 22 in Schedule 2.
- (24) The parish of Tidworth is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 23 in Schedule 2.
- (25) The parish of Trowbridge is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of table 24 in Schedule 2.
- (26) The parish of Warminster is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 25 in schedule 2.
- (27) The parish of Westbury is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 26 in Schedule 2.
- (28) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (29) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

17th March 2020