## SCHEDULE 2

## Persons not required to comply with regulation 3 or 4

## PART 1

## Persons not required to comply with regulation 3 and regulation 4

**3.**—(1) A person who is a Crown servant, a government contractor, or a member of a visiting force, who—

- (a) is required to undertake work necessary to the delivery of essential defence activities, or
- (b) has undertaken a continuous period of at least 14 days immediately preceding their arrival aboard a vessel operated by or in support of Her Majesty's Naval Service and that vessel has not taken on any persons or docked in any port outside of the common travel area for a period of at least 14 days immediately preceding its arrival in the United Kingdom.
- (2) For the purposes of sub-paragraph (1)—
  - (a) "defence" has the meaning given in section 2(4) of the Official Secrets Act 1989,
  - (b) "visiting force" means a visiting force within the meaning given in section 12(1) of the Visiting Forces Act 1952(1), where that force is from a country which is listed under section 1(1)(a), or designated under section 1(1)(b) or 1(2), of the Visiting Forces Act 1952(2), or which is a country member of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation.

<sup>(1)</sup> The definition of "visiting force" in section 12(1) was amended by paragraph 14(1) of Schedule 15 to the Criminal Justice Act 1988 (c. 33).

<sup>(2) 1952</sup> c. 67. Section 1(a) has been amended numerous, times. The countries listed are: Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India, Pakistan, Ceylon, Ghana, Malaysia, the Republic of Cyprus, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Tanganyika, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Kenya, Zanzibar, Malawi, Zambia, Malta, The Gambia, Guyana, Botswana, Lesotho, Singapore, Barbados, Mauritius, Swaziland, Tonga, Fiji, the Bahamas, Bangladesh, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Dominica, St. Lucia, Kiribati, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Papua New Guinea, Western Samoa and Nauru, Zimbabwe, the New Hebrides, Belize, Antigua and Barbuda, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Brunei, Maldives, Namibia, Cameroon and Mozambique.