STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2020 No. 71

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The London Borough of Hillingdon (Electoral Changes) Order 2020

Made - - - 28th January 2020 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated June 2019 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Hillingdon. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the London Borough of Hillingdon (Electoral Changes) Order 2020.
 - (2) This article and article 2 come into force on 15th October 2021.
 - (3) Article 3 comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2021;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(3) in 2022.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the London Borough of Hillingdon (Electoral Changes) Order 2020", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(4).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the London Borough of Hillingdon and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the London Borough of Hillingdon are abolished.
- (2) The London Borough of Hillingdon is divided into the 21 wards listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

28th January 2020

⁽⁴⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/greater-london/greater-london/hillingdon.

SCHEDULE Article 3
Wards of the London Borough of Hillingdon

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Belmore	3
Charville	2
Colham & Cowley	3
Eastcote	3
Harefield Village	1
Hayes Town	3
Heathrow Villages	2
Hillingdon East	3
Hillingdon West	2
Ickenham & South Harefield	3
Northwood	2
Northwood Hills	2
Pinkwell	3
Ruislip	3
Ruislip Manor	2
South Ruislip	3
Uxbridge	3
West Drayton	3
Wood End	3
Yeading	2
Yiewsley	2

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Hillingdon following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the borough remains unchanged.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the London Borough of Hillingdon and replaces them with 21 new ones for the purpose of elections held on or after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2022. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/greater-london/greater-london/hillingdon.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.