EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020 (S.I. 2020/568) ("the principal Regulations").

Regulation 2(a) of these Regulations removes Andorra, the Bahamas and Belgium from the list of exempt countries and territories (i.e. countries and territories, listed in Schedule A1 to the principal Regulations, from which passengers arriving in England are not required to self-isolate). Regulation 2(b) of these Regulations adds Brunei and Malaysia to that list.

Passengers are not required to self-isolate on arrival in England if, during the 14 days preceding their arrival, they have only been in or transited through exempt countries or territories. Passengers who have been in or transited through a non-exempt country or territory must self-isolate until 14 days have elapsed since the day after they last left a non-exempt country or territory.

Regulation 3 ensures that the amendments made by regulation 2(2)(a) do not affect passengers who arrived before 9th August 2020 and that the amendments made by regulation 2(2)(b) do not affect passengers who arrived before 4.00 a.m. on 11th August 2020.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument. An explanatory memorandum has been published alongside this instrument at www.legislation.gov.uk.