EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Regulations)

These Regulations amend the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (England) Regulations 2020 (S.I. 2020/568) ("the principal Regulations") to—

- (a) remove Aruba, France, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, and Turks and Caicos Islands from the list of exempt countries and territories, in Schedule A1 to the principal Regulations, from which passengers arriving in England are not required to self-isolate;
- (b) amend the list of specified competitions in Schedule 3 to the principal Regulations, which is relevant to the exemption from the requirement to self-isolate for elite sportspersons.

Passengers are not required to self-isolate on arrival in England if, during the 14 days preceding their arrival, they have only been in or transited through exempt countries or territories. Passengers who have been in or transited through a non-exempt country or territory must self-isolate until 14 days have elapsed since the day after they last left a non-exempt country or territory. The changes to Schedule A1 will not affect passengers who arrive in England before 4.00 a.m. on 15th August 2020.

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument. An explanatory memorandum has been published alongside this instrument at www.legislation.gov.uk.