STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2021 No. 888

The New Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2021

Citation, commencement, extent and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the New Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2021.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(1) in 2023.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the New Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2021", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the district of the New Forest and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of the New Forest are abolished.
- (2) The district of the New Forest is divided into the 26 wards listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Wards of the parishes of Fawley, Hythe & Dibden, Lymington & Pennington, New Milton, Ringwood and Totton & Eling

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Fawley, Hythe & Dibden, Lymington & Pennington, New Milton, Ringwood and Totton and Eling are abolished.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-east/hampshire/new-forest.

- (2) The parish of Fawley is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Hythe & Dibden is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Lymington & Pennington is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of New Milton is divided into the six parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Ringwood is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 5 in Schedule 2.
- (7) The parish of Totton & Eling is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of table 6 in Schedule 2.
- (8) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (9) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

22nd July 2021