EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order designates the parishes listed in the Schedule as rural areas under section 157(1)(c) of the Housing Act 1985 ("the Act") and provides for the regions of Sevenoaks and Derbyshire Dales to be designated regions under section 157(3) of the Act in relation to dwelling-houses situated in the designated rural areas falling within those districts.

Where a dwelling-house in a designated rural area is sold under Part 5 of the Act (the right to buy), the vendor may—

- (a) impose a covenant requiring its consent to any further disposal which is not an exempted disposal under section 160 of the Act (but the vendor's consent may not be withheld if the disposal is to a person who has throughout the preceding 3 years had their only or principal home or place of work in a designated region which, or part of which, is comprised in the designated rural area) (see section 157(1) to (3) of the Act); or
- (b) reserve a right of pre-emption if the Secretary of State or, if the vendor is a housing association, the Regulator of Social Housing, consents (see section 156A(8) of the Act).

Similar covenants as to consent or rights of pre-emption may be imposed in relation to dwelling-houses in the areas designated by this Order that are sold voluntarily under section 32 of the Act (see section 37 of the Act).

Article 4 of this Order amends the Housing (Right to Buy) (Designated Rural Areas and Designated Regions) (England) Order 2021 (SI 2021/1222) to correctly identify the district of Wyre Forest.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no significant impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.