STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2022 No. 1365

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Liverpool (Electoral Changes) Order 2022

Made - - - 16th December 2022 Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act"), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated September 2022(3) stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the city of Liverpool. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before each House of Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation, commencement, extent and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Liverpool (Electoral Changes) Order 2022.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which the Order is made.
- (3) Article 3 comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which the Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(4) in 2023.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The report is available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-west/merseyside/liverpool.

⁽⁴⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Liverpool (Electoral Changes) Order 2022", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(5).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the city of Liverpool and numbers of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the city of Liverpool are abolished.
- (2) The city of Liverpool is divided into the 64 wards listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

16th December 2022

⁽⁵⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-west/merseyside/liverpool.

SCHEDULE Article 3
Wards of the city of Liverpool and numbers of councillors

(I)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Aigburth	1
Allerton	1
Anfield	2
Arundel	1
Belle Vale	2
Broadgreen	1
Brownlow Hill	2
Calderstones	1
Canning	2
Childwall	2
Church	1
City Centre North	2
City Centre South	3
Clubmoor East	1
Clubmoor West	1
County	2
Croxteth	1
Croxteth Country Park	1
Dingle	2
Edge Hill	1
Everton East	1
Everton North	1
Everton West	1
Fazakerley East	1
Fazakerley North	1
Fazakerley West	1
Festival Gardens	1
Garston	2
Gateacre	1
Grassendale & Cressington	1

(1)	(2)	
Name of ward	Number of councillors	
Greenbank Park	1	
Kensington & Fairfield	3	
Kirkdale East	1	
Kirkdale West	1	
Knotty Ash & Dovecot Park	1	
Mossley Hill	1	
Much Woolton & Hunts Cross	2	
Norris Green	3	
Old Swan East	1	
Old Swan West	1	
Orrell Park	1	
Penny Lane	1	
Princes Park	1	
Sandfield Park	1	
Sefton Park	1	
Smithdown	2	
Speke	2	
Springwood	1	
St Michaels	1	
Stoneycroft	1	
Toxteth	1	
Tuebrook Breckside Park	1	
Tuebrook Larkhill	1	
Vauxhall	2	
Walton	2	
Waterfront North	1	
Waterfront South	1	
Wavertree Garden Suburb	1	
Wavertree Village	1	
West Derby Deysbrook	1	
West Derby Leyfield	1	
West Derby Muirhead	1	
Woolton Village	1	

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

(1)	(2)	
Name of ward	Number of councillors	
Yew Tree	2	

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the city of Liverpool following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the city remains unchanged.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the city of Liverpool and replaces them with 64 new ones. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL.

 $\label{linear_$

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.