STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2022 No. 1368

The Telford & Wrekin (Electoral Changes) Order 2022

Citation, commencement, extent and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Telford & Wrekin (Electoral Changes) Order 2022.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(1) in 2023.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Telford & Wrekin (Electoral Changes) Order 2022", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the borough of Telford & Wrekin and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough of Telford & Wrekin are abolished.
- (2) The borough of Telford & Wrekin is divided into the 32 wards listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Changes to parish wards and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing parish wards of the following parishes are abolished—
 - (a) Chetwynd Aston & Woodcote,
 - (b) Dawley Hamlets,
 - (c) Donnington & Muxton,

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/west-midlands/shropshire/telford-and-wrekin.

- (d) Ercall Magna,
- (e) Great Dawley,
- (f) Hadley & Leegomery,
- (g) Ketley,
- (h) Lawley & Overdale,
- (i) Madeley,
- (j) Newport,
- (k) Oakengates,
- (1) St Georges & Priorslee,
- (m) Stirchley & Brookside,
- (n) Wellington,
- (o) Wrockwardine, and
- (p) Wrockwardine Wood & Trench.
- (2) The parish of Chetwynd Aston & Woodcote is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Dawley Hamlets is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of Table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Donnington & Muxton is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Ercall Magna is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Great Dawley is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 5 in Schedule 2
- (7) The parish of Hadley & Leegomery is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of Table 6 in Schedule 2.
- (8) The parish of Ketley is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 7 in Schedule 2.
- (9) The parish of Lawley & Overdale is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of Table 8 in Schedule 2.
- (10) The parish of Madeley is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 9 in Schedule 2.
- (11) The parish of Newport is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 10 in Schedule 2.
- (12) The parish of Oakengates is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 11 in Schedule 2.
- (13) The parish of St Georges & Priorslee is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 12 in Schedule 2.
- (14) The parish of Stirchley & Brookside is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 13 in Schedule 2.
- (15) The parish of Wellington is divided into the eight parish wards listed in the first column of Table 14 in Schedule 2.
- (16) The parish of Wrockwardine is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 15 in Schedule 2.

- (17) The parish of Wrockwardine Wood & Trench is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 16 in Schedule 2
- (18) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (19) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that parish ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

16th December 2022