2022 No. 777

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Mansfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2022

Made - - - 8th July 2022

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act $2009(\mathbf{a})$ ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(**b**) ("the Commission") published a report dated February $2022(\mathbf{c})$ stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the district of Mansfield. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation, commencement, extent and application

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Mansfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2022.

(2) This article and article 2 come into force on 15th October 2022.

(3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—

- (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2022;
- (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(d) in 2023.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

⁽**a**) 2009 c. 20.

⁽b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽c) The report is available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/nottinghamshire/mansfield.

⁽d) The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Mansfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2022", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(\mathbf{a}).

(2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the district of Mansfield and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Mansfield are abolished.

- (2) The district of Mansfield is divided into the 36 wards listed in the Schedule.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) One councillor is to be elected for each ward.

Wards of the parish of Warsop and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing parish wards of the parish of Warsop are abolished.

(2) The parish of Warsop is divided into four parish wards named-

- (a) Market Warsop;
- (b) Meden;
- (c) Netherfield;
- (d) Warsop Carrs.

(3) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(4) Three councillors are to be elected for each parish ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



8th July 2022

Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

⁽a) Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/nottinghamshire/mansfield.

SCHEDULE

Article 3(2)

Names of wards of the district of Mansfield

- 1. Bancroft
- **2.** Berry Hill
- 3. Brick Kiln
- 4. Carr Bank
- 5. Central
- 6. Eakring
- 7. Grange Farm
- 8. Holly Forest Town
- 9. Hornby
- 10. Kings Walk
- 11. Kingsway Forest Town
- 12. Lindhurst
- 13. Ling Forest
- 14. Manor
- 15. Market Warsop
- 16. Maun Valley Forest Town
- 17. Meden
- 18. Mill Lane
- 19. Netherfield
- 20. Newlands Forest Town
- 21. Oak Tree
- 22. Oakham
- 23. Park Hall
- **24.** Penniment
- 25. Pleasley
- **26.** Racecourse
- 27. Rock Hill
- 28. Rufford
- **29.** Sherwood
- **30.** Southwell
- **31.** Thompsons

32. Vale

- 33. Wainwright
- 34. Warsop Carrs
- 35. West Bank
- 36. Yeoman Hill

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of Mansfield following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the district of Mansfield and replaces them with 36 new ones for the purpose of elections held on or after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2023. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to the parish wards of the parish of Warsop that are consequential on the changes made by article 3.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/nottinghamshire/mansfield.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.



£4.90

[©] Crown copyright 2022

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Jeff James, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament.