EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the district of North Hertfordshire following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the district remains unchanged.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the district of North Hertfordshire and replaces them with 25 new ones for the purpose of elections held on or after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2024. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes electoral changes in the parish of Royston. These changes to parish wards come into force for the purpose of parish elections in 2026. Table 1 of Schedule 2 contains the names of the new parish wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 5 makes electoral changes in the parish of Bygrave. These changes to parish wards come into force for the purpose of parish elections in 2027. Table 2 of Schedule 2 contains the names of the new parish wards and the number of councillors for each.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-hertfordshire.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.