STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2023 No. 819

The Epping Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2023

Citation, commencement, extent and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Epping Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2023.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3, 4, 5, Schedule 1 and Part 1 of Schedule 2 come into force—
 - (a) for the purposes of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2023;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(1) in 2024.
- (4) Article 6 and Part 2 of Schedule 2 come into force—
 - (a) for the purposes of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2026;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2027.
- (5) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Epping Forest (Electoral Changes) Order 2023", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the district of Epping Forest and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Epping Forest are abolished.
- (2) The district of Epping Forest is divided into the 18 wards listed in Schedule 1.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is three.

Elections of the district of Epping Forest

4.—(1) Elections of all councillors for each ward of the district are to be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2024.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/epping-forest.

- (2) The councillors holding office for any ward abolished by article 3(1) immediately before the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2024 are to retire on that fourth day, and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on that fourth day.
 - (3) Of the councillors elected for a ward in 2024—
 - (a) one is to retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2026;
 - (b) one is to retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2027;
 - (c) one is to retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2028.
 - (4) Of the councillors elected for a ward in 2024—
 - (a) the first councillor for each ward to retire is to be the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes; and
 - (b) the second councillor for each ward to retire is to be the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes.
- (5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire in that year is to be determined by lot.
- (6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each year is to be determined by lot.
- (7) An election to replace a councillor who is to retire under paragraph (3) is to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in the year in which the retirement is due to take place, and any newly elected councillor is to come into office on the fourth day after that day.
- (8) Where, under this article, any question is to be determined by lot, the lot is to be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing is to be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

Parish wards of the parishes of Chigwell and Loughton and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing parish wards of the parishes of Chigwell and Loughton are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Chigwell is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Part 1 of Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Loughton is divided into the nine parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Part 1 of Schedule 2.
- (4) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (5) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that parish ward in the second column of the table in Part 1 of Schedule 2.

Parish wards of the parishes of Epping, Roydon and Waltham Abbey and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The existing parish wards of the parishes of Epping, Roydon and Waltham Abbey are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Epping is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Part 2 of Schedule 2.
- (3) The parish of Roydon is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of table 4 in Part 2 of Schedule 2.

- (4) The parish of Waltham Abbey is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of table 5 in Part 2 of Schedule 2.
- (5) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (6) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that parish ward in the second column of the table in Part 2 of Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England



Jolyon Jackson Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

18th July 2023