## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales was required by section 64(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as substituted by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994) to review electoral arrangements as soon as practicable after the first elections to unitary authorities in May 1995.

This Order gives effect to the proposals made in the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales' report of March 2000 for the County of Monmouthshire.

Although the Order abolishes all existing electoral divisions within the County and replaces them with new electoral divisions, in practice the majority of them will remain the same.

There is no change to the divisions of:

Croesonen, Crucorney, Goetre Fawr, Larkfield, Llanbadoc, Llanelly Hill, Llanfoist Fawr, Llangybi Fawr, Llanover, Llantilio Crossenny, Llanwenarth Ultra, Mardy, Mitchel Troy, Overmonnow, Portskewett, Raglan, Rogiet, St. Arvans, St. Christopher's, St. Kingsmark, St. Mary's, Thornwell, Trellech United, Usk, Wyesham.

The existing community of **Abergavenny** is to be divided to create five electoral divisions each returning one councillor:

## Cantref, Castle, Grofield, Lansdown, Priory.

The existing community of **Caldicot** is to be divided to create five electoral divisions each returning one councillor:

## Caldicot Castle, Dewstow, Green Lane, Severn, West End.

The existing division of **Caerwent** presently includes the communities of Caerwent and Mathern. Under the new arrangements the electoral division of Caerwent comprises of the Community of Caerwent. The division will return one councillor.

The existing division of **Shirenewton** presently comprises the communities of Devauden, Llangwm and **Shirenewton**. Under the new arrangements the electoral division of **Shirenewton** comprises of the communities of **Mathern** and **Shirenewton** and returns one councillor.

New electoral divisions are created for:

Devauden, returning one councillor. The division to comprise of the communities of Devauden and Llangwm.

**Dixton with Osbaston** to return one councillor. The division to comprise of the **Dixton with Osbaston** ward of the Community of Monmouth.

**Drybridge**, returning one councillor. The division to comprise of the **Drybridge** and **Town** wards of the Community of Monmouth.

Mill, returning one councillor. The division to comprise of The Mill, Denny and Salisbury wards of the Community of Magor with Undy.

The Elms, returning one councillor. The division to comprise of The Elms ward of the Community of Magor with Undy.

The areas of the new divisions are demarcated on the detailed map described in Article 2, prints of which may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of Monmouthshire County Council and at the offices of the National Assembly for Wales, Cathays Park, Cardiff, CF10 3NQ (Local Government Modernisation Division).