EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales was required by section 64(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as substituted by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994) to review electoral arrangements as soon as possible after the first elections to unitary authorities in May 1995.

This Order gives effect (with some modifications) to the proposals made in the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales' report of October 1999 for the County Borough of Torfaen.

Although the Order abolishes all existing electoral divisions within the County Borough and replaces them with new electoral divisions, in practice the majority will remain the same.

There is no change to the divisions of Abersychan, Blaenavon, Brynwern, Coed Eva, Croesyceiliog North, Croesyceiliog South, Cwmyniscoy, Fairwater, Greenmeadow, Llantarnam, Llanyrafon North, Llanyrafon South, Panteg, Pontnewydd, Pontnewynydd, Pontypool, Snatchwood, St. Cadocs and Penygarn, St. Dials, Trevethin, Two Locks, Upper Cwmbran, Wainfelin.

The existing divisions of New Inn Lower and New Inn Upper however shall be combined to form the electoral division of **New Inn**. It will consist of the Community of New Inn and be represented by three councillors.