#### WELSH STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

#### 2010 No. 934

#### The County Borough of Caerphilly (Communities) Order 2010

#### Title and commencement

- 1.—(1) The title of this Order is The County Borough of Caerphilly (Communities) Order 2010.
- (2) For any purpose set out in regulation 4(1) of the Regulations, this Order comes into operation on the day after that on which it is made.
- (3) For all other purposes, this Order comes into force on 1 April 2010, which is the appointed day for the purposes of the Regulations.

#### Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"the Regulations" ("*y Rheoliadau*") means the Local Government Area Changes Regulations 1976(1);

"Map A" ("Map A"), "Map B" ("Map B"), "Map C" ("Map C"), "Map D" ("Map D"), "Map E" ("Map E"), "Map F" ("Map F"), "Map G" ("Map G"), "Map H" ("Map H"), "Map I" ("Map I"), "Map I" ("Map

where a boundary is shown on a map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

**3.** Changes are made in the local government area of the County Borough of Caerphilly in accordance with the following provisions of this Order.

# Caerphilly and Penyrheol Trecenydd and Energlyn – change in community areas and ward boundaries and consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- **4.** The part of the community of Caerphilly shown hatched on Map A—
  - (a) is transferred to the community of Penyrheol Trecenydd and Energlyn;
  - (b) forms part of the Trecenydd ward of the community of Penyrheol Trecenydd and Energlyn; and
  - (c) forms part of the electoral division of Penyrheol.
- 5. The part of the community of Penyrheol Trecenydd and Energlyn shown hatched on Map B—
  - (a) is transferred to the community of Caerphilly;
  - (b) forms part of the Cwrt Rawlins ward of the community of Caerphilly; and
  - (c) forms part of the electoral division of St. Martins.

- **6.** The part of the community of Caerphilly shown hatched on Map C now forms the Cwrt Rawlins ward and the Watford ward is altered to be in alignment with the new community ward boundary.
- 7. In the community of Caerphilly the number of councillors to be elected for the ward of Castle is 2, the ward of Cwrt Rawlins is 2 and for the ward of Watford is 1.
- **8.** In the community of Penyrheol Trecenydd and Energlyn the number of councillors to be elected for the Penyrheol ward is 4.

### Caerphilly and Van – change in community areas and ward boundaries and consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- 9. The part of the community of Van shown hatched on Map D—
  - (a) is transferred to the community of Caerphilly;
  - (b) forms part of the Tonyfelin ward; and
  - (c) forms part of the electoral division of Morgan Jones.
- 10. The part of the community of Caerphilly shown cross hatched on Map D—
  - (a) is transferred from the Twyn ward; and
  - (b) forms part of the Tonyfelin ward.

### Penyrheol Trecenydd and Energlyn and Llanbradach and Pwll-y-Pant – change in community areas and ward boundaries and consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- 11. The part of the community of Llanbradach and Pwll-y-Pant shown hatched on Map E—
  - (a) is transferred to the community of Penyrheol Trecenydd and Energlyn;
  - (b) forms part of the Energlyn ward; and
  - (c) forms part of the electoral division of Penyrheol.
- 12. The part of the community of Penyrheol Trecenydd and Energlyn shown hatched on Map F—
  - (a) is transferred from the Trecenydd ward; and
  - (b) forms part of the Energlyn ward.

## Llanbradach and Pwll-y-Pant and Caerphilly – change in community areas and consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- 13. The part of the community of Caerphilly shown hatched on Map G—
  - (a) is transferred to the community of Llanbradach and Pwll-y-pant;
  - (b) forms part of the Pwll-y-Pant ward; and
  - (c) forms part of the electoral division of Llanbradach.

#### Maesycwmmer and Pengam – change in community areas and consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- 14. The part of the community of Maesycwmmer shown hatched on Map H—
  - (a) is transferred to the community of Pengam;
  - (b) forms part of the Pengam ward; and
  - (c) forms part of the electoral division of Pengam.
- 15. The part of the community of Pengam shown cross hatched on Map H—

- (a) is transferred to the community of Maesycwmmer;
- (b) forms part of the Maesycwmmer ward; and
- (c) forms part of the electoral division of Maesycwmmer.

### Maesycwmmer and Pontllanfraith – change in community areas and consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- 16. The part of the community of Maesycwmmer shown hatched on Map I—
  - (a) is transferred to the community of Pontllanfraith;
  - (b) forms part of the Pontllanfraith ward; and
  - (c) forms part of the electoral division of Pontllanfraith.
- 17. The part of the community of Pontllanfraith shown cross hatched on Map I—
  - (a) is transferred to the community of Maesycwmmer;
  - (b) forms part of the Maesycwmmer ward; and
  - (c) forms part of the electoral division of Maesycwmmer.

### Pengam and Cefn Fforest – change in community areas and consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- 18. The parts of the community of Pengam shown hatched on Map J and Map K—
  - (a) are transferred to the community of Cefn Fforest;
  - (b) form part of the Cefn Fforest ward; and
  - (c) form part of the electoral division of Cefn Fforest.

#### Risca – abolition of existing community area to create two new community areas

- **19.**—(1) The existing community of Risca is abolished and the area is divided to form two new communities of Risca East and Risca West as shown on Map L and Map M.
  - (2) The new community of Risca East forms part of the electoral division of Risca East.
  - (3) The new community of Risca West forms part of the electoral division of Risca West.

### Penmaen and Crumlin – change in community areas and consequential changes to electoral arrangements

- 20. The part of the community of Crumlin shown hatched on Map N—
  - (a) is transferred to the community of Penmaen;
  - (b) forms part of the Penmaen ward; and
  - (c) forms part of the electoral division of Penmaen.

Carl Sargeant
Minister for Social Justice and Local
Government, one of the Welsh Ministers

12 March 2010